Skip to content

Does more protein = more anger?

August 6, 2009

DSC_0116

I notice that I have been in a rather bad mood for the last couple of weeks….irritable, angry for not much reason at all. And I wonder if it is related to this high protein diet thing I am supposed to be on. Is it related? Does eating more protein make you angry? (Could this be why men in general can be more aggressive than women – higher protein consumption?). Am I angry because I am feeling compelled to eat protein and stuff I don’t really want to, that I have to ‘watch’ what I eat? Could it be withdrawl from lovely, empty, non-nutritious carbs? Actually I am not missing them much and when I do, I just eat them…so it cant be that.

Or could it all be because I have annoying things happening in my life that is making me irritable? Like the annoying women I have to deal with to organise our school  music camp. I am supposed to look after the strings group (my kids both play the violin) and they do the band. They are officious and demanding and…really irritating me. I am starting to think mean thoughts about band instruments and players. And school mums who go around sighing about how they are the only ones who ever do anything for our school.

But other than the music camp thing I don’t think I have any extra/unusual stress generators in my life right now. I am the master of internalising stress though, and often don’t even have a consciousness about it (until some of my stress related health issues flare up to let me know that I am stressed!). Stupid, right?

So this morning I am trying to ‘get over it’. Hence the picture of lovely flowers in our garden. I had three strong coffees in a row and I am listening to opera. I love opera most of all music. It makes my heart sing….sounds corny but I “feel” it as a physical thing when I listen to it. Hoping all this works to put me in a calm state before I go to what will hopefully be my last music camp meeting! And so I can get some real work done today. I will also try and do some exercise today which is usually my best stress management tool.

So tell me, what do you do when you are stressed/irritable/angry? And do you think there could be a link between protein and anger?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 12:50 PM

    I think it’s to do with adjusting to less carbs. I’ve tried losing weight before, and remember clearly the crankiness. I think the protein’s relevant too – it’s like your body is adjusting to different levels. Are you working out with weights as well? I think that can lead to a little girly “roid” rage – I remember the feeling well. It’s a bit like long lasting PMT. My suggestion is that you view it as such, and ride it out without killing anyone..like you, I find cardio helps, though that can sometimes make me a little manic. Sheesh, I sound like a mess.. :)

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      August 6, 2009 1:28 PM

      That really helps – thank you!. Your description sounds pretty spot on for what I am going through. And yes, I am doing weights (used to do weights occassionally but never pushed myself too hard…now the personal trainer keeps increasing my weights to fairly ridiculous levels). So the ‘roid rage thing makes sense. Scary.
      I am glad to hear that this is a fairly normal thing….and that it will end eventually. Before this new program I used to find that exercise put me into a pretty calm, zen sort of state of mind. But the last couple of weeks have been quite the opposite. Now I will look forward to this phase ending soon and perhaps keep my headphones/calming music on permanently until it does! Thanks again.

  2. August 25, 2009 9:09 PM

    I’ve heard that lowering carbs in the diet can cause this although I suppose it’s hard to tell as life and stress ebbs and flows a lot! :)

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      August 26, 2009 12:59 PM

      I have been monitoring this and definately notice that I am a bit short tempered on days when I have not been eating enough carbohydrates. Luckily that two week period of anger was as long as it lasted, perhaps just a phase of adjustment as my body got used to lower overal amounts of carbohydrates (?). Either way, I am glad to see the back of it…as you say, life has enough ‘real’ stresses for us without this sort of nonsense!

  3. SMITH permalink
    January 3, 2012 10:18 AM

    FUCK PROTEIN, CARBS, FAT, CHOLESTEROL, SODIUM, FIBER. THERE AL BAD. THATS WHY WE MONITOR THEM ON THE NUTRITION LABEL. DON’T FUCKING REPLY BACK. I’M RIGHT, REGARDLESS WHAT THE FUCK YOU SAY.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

