Skip to content

Microwave potato crisps

February 15, 2010

If like me you are addicted to crunchy, salty things, then you should stop reading this post now – this could be dangerous information for you to have!

Yes, you can make sensational potato crisps in the microwave – much nicer that the Kettle chips you could have been spending a lot of money on (like me). Armed with nothing more than a potato (or three), a mandoline slicer, a microwave, a tiny bit of olive oil and salt….your craving for crisps can be satisfied at any time of the day or night. Gulp!

I read about this in another food blog – sorry I don’t remember which one to give proper credit – and decided that I had to try it.

Slice the potato into evenly thin slices – the mandoline type of slicer is great for this. Rub a teaspoonful or so of olive oil through the slices. Layer them on a microwave safe plate (I just used an old dinner plate). Microwave on high for 2-3 minutes depending on the power of your microwave. Turn over and microwave for another minute or two. Sprinkle with salt. Wait for a minute or two for them to crisp up. Try to eat slowly and savour the fine taste…remark on how surprising it is that a microwave can produce something crispy, golden and lovely. Share with your family…if you have to.

Don’t pre-slice the potatoes, just slice as many as you need for each plateful as they tend to go brown if left sitting out (since we are not using that much oil).  As you can see in the photos, I left the skin on my potatoes….all those vitamins under the skin and all that :). The good thing about these crisps is that they taste of potato, they are relatively healthy-ish (no additives with funny numbers) and they take a while to make – slowing down the speed of consumption! They are fantastic….give them a try!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. February 15, 2010 7:32 PM

    Mmm yum!! This is as addictive as that 5 minute chocolate cake. And for me, I often get cravings for salty over sweet things! Thankyou! :D

  2. February 15, 2010 8:44 PM

    Noooooo!!!! I don’t need to know this, Spice Girl! :)

    Seriously, thank you! I’m going to try this tomorrow. Of course. :)

  3. February 16, 2010 7:34 PM

    this is the greatest discovery of mankind since the wheel

  4. February 17, 2010 6:07 AM

    We’ve been experimenting with these, and found that if you put them on a sheet of parchment paper, you don’t even need to turn them! Just put the parchment paper straight onto the microwave plate – works a treat and nothing sticks! We made five batches yesterday, SG!! :)

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      February 18, 2010 9:27 AM

      I love that you have experimented and improved on this idea to make it even easier for me to make these at any time of the day or night….aaaggghH!!!

  5. Zeb permalink
    February 17, 2010 7:23 AM

    Hello, just read about this on Celia’s blog and came rushing over to see what was going on! Looks brilliant ! Zeb

  6. 2hotwings permalink
    February 17, 2010 4:44 PM

    These look so awesome – and much healthier than their evil counterpart. Just wanted to give you a shout out and say I really like your posts! I am going to subscribe. :)

  7. February 18, 2010 5:01 AM

    OMWWWWWW, I’m going to do this with red potatoes…maybe this weekend and my kids are going to go gaga…and maybe crown me mom of the year!!!!! Yayyyyyyy. Thanks

  8. spiceandmore permalink*
    February 18, 2010 9:27 AM

    Thanks for all the comments guys. It is dangerous information, isn’t it? But oh so good too….!!

  9. February 21, 2010 3:08 AM

    So…..I used this to make some strawberry chips……..not bad. Pity I didn’t have enough strawberries…..hmmmmmmmm

  10. February 26, 2010 1:39 PM

    i made these for a bunch of friends i had over. i put the slices in water, and as soon as one batch was ready i dried the next, oiled, seasoned … …. my microwave never stopped working for a half hour. everybody loved these chips!! more importantly: i have resisted to buying them for years. what am i going to do now?! give up on any semblance of silhouette, i guess.
    found your blog via celia – i love it!

    • Spice and more permalink
      February 26, 2010 1:42 PM

      Oh dear…I apologise. I too have to really watch myself now as I can so easily satisfy that craving at any time of the day or night! I made these with sweet potatoes the other day too – not as fantastic but still better than any sweet potato chip you can buy. At least we can console ourselves with knowing that there isn’t any other gunk in them and the amount of oil is controlled and has no transfats!

  11. June 2, 2011 5:53 PM

    Oh wow I just made these and my second batch is already in the oven. I made them for my man who should be home any minute but I ate the first batch. Oops. They’re so good!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      June 5, 2011 10:48 PM

      They are wickedly easy aren’t they…and oh so delicious…

Trackbacks

  1. Sweet potato microwave chips « Spice and more
  2. ‘Cuban’ strawberries with Meringue Ice-cream | Kitchen Butterfly

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

