Skip to content

Where has the year gone?!

November 15, 2013

IMG_5613[1]

What a bad blogger I have been this year. I had so many thoughts and ideas and photos to blog but somehow the will to follow through seems to have abandoned me this year. I hope to make amends…and will start with sharing some photos and stories from a recent (mostly work) trip.

Starting at the end of my trip here….I managed to squeeze in a ridiculously brief visit to Paris on my way home. At the airport, tired and sick of lugging bags around I mentally berated myself for having such a silly idea to come to another country and end up being there for less than 48 hours. But then I got to Paris. And discovered that I love, love Paris in Autumn!

I managed a visit to the wonderful Musee d’Orsay. Looking at all that amazing art was soothed and calmed my tired mind and heart. A truly amazing collection. Last year when we were in Paris I missed the visit to the Centre Pompidou and the Musee d’Orsay, both of which the kids and Andrew loved. I asked them to help me choose which one to visit since I could not fit both in. The boys voted for the Pompidou and Tara voted for the Musee d’Orsay. Andrew talked about it with some architects at work who had all spent lots of time in Paris. Interestingly they all voted for the Pompidou too, but said their 10-12 year old daughters loved the d’Orsay. Something to explore in that split I think.

And ofcourse I had to fit in as many baguettes with fantastic French butter and cheese as I could. And I have to report that my food quest for this year in relation to making proper French baguettes has not been a success…yet. Far from it. Just look and marvel at this crumb…

Paris baguette

Ofcourse there were cakes, and galettes and other sensational food too. It was Paris afterall, and I do love to eat!

Paris2013

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 16, 2013 7:58 AM

    I would love to go to Paris. It’s definitely one of those cities that everyone should experience just once. Good to see you back! xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

