Skip to content

My favourite winter veggie

June 26, 2009
Cavallo Nero

Cavallo Nero

A quick pop into the organic food store (what used to be called Macro but is no longer) in Bondi Junction after a client meeting revealed this huge bunch of Cavallo Nero which I quickly lay claim to. I usually buy tender loose leaves of this lovely green from Fratelli Fresh, a big bag full of it.  I usually make a Ribollata soup inspired by a River Cafe recipe but also throw a few leaves in just about anything I cook over the next week.

Armed with some fresh borlotti beans, lots of celery, carrot and a big bunch of parley I set out to make a big pot of Ribollata.

comp1Ribollata (not the most attractive looking soup, but one that gets the stamp of approval from the kids as well!)

Quantities are approximate – no need to be too precise here. The trick with this soup is to cook each stage for the required time. A good soup to make while you have other tasks to do such as unpacking the dishwasher!)

1 cup diced carrot

1 cup diced celery

3/4 bunch flat leaf parsley, chopped

1 diced red onion

2 diced cloves of garlic

Fry all of the above in a good splodge of olive oil for 30 minutes until all vegies are soft, starting to get a little brown and all flavours have melded.

Add in 1 can of tomatoes that have been roughly diced.

Cook for another 30 minutes.

Add:

1 large bunch finely shredded cavallo nero

1 cup of fresh borlotti beans (tinned would be ok too)

water to cover

Cook for another 30 minutes. Roughly blend about half the soup to give it a more soupy sort of texture.

Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve garnished with slices of parmesan and a dash of olive oil.

The real ribollata should have some bread in it to make up the soup texture. After taking out a bowl of the soup for me (while it was still gluten free), I added in a couple of slices of spelt sourdough bread that I roughly tore into chunks. Allowed it to simmer for a further 10 minutes. The soup is meant to be a very thick texture. Like I said, does not look sensational but it is delicious and definately a meal in a bowl.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2009 11:58 AM

    I know these as black/tuscan kale (or atleast that’s what it looks like to me). One of my favorite greens!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 3, 2009 2:43 PM

      I think Cavallo Nero is the Italian name which is what I have always known it as. I think you are right that the English name is probably Kale…I have even seen it called Italian Cabbage in shops. It is a terrific vegetable isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

