Skip to content

Ribs galore

July 8, 2009

DSC_0635A very meaty feast for the extended family. The boys (apart from Sam the new vegetarian) were all very happy indeed. They rolled up their sleeves and got stuck into it. I experimented with making some barbeque sauce which turned out to be rather delicious – hot, tangy, smoky….just the way barbeque sauce should taste I think. I never eat the commercial sauce so can’t claim to be any expert, just made it the way my tastebuds dictated. I made a saucepan full of it and all evening people kept sneaking over to the stove and consuming spoonfulls of it (!). Hope I can remember what I put in it so I can recreate it (and post about it with proper quantities etc at a later date).

Drenched in my barbeque sauce

DSC_0638

Here is how I made the ribs. I made a fairly disgusting quantity of these – about 5kg. Below is the recipe for about 2kg of pork ribs.

Marinade:

1 tablespoon sweet paprika
1 tablespoon bitter sweet smoked paprika
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 tablespoon freshly ground black pepper
2 teaspoons garlic powder
1 small onion finely chopped
150ml beer
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 tablespoon dried thyme or rosemary
1 tablespoon mustard powder
1 teaspoon cumin powder
1 tablespoon honey
salt

Pour the beer over the ribs and then rub in the remaining marinade ingredients. Leave overnight if possible, or at least for a couple of hours. Take them out of the fridge an hour before cooking.

Bake in a moderate oven for about an hour in a large dish covered with foil. Remove from oven and brush with your barbeque sauce.

Cook for a further 30-40 minutes in a covered barbeque (I used a webber with charcoal hence the slight charring on some of them – adds to the smoky flavour I think), basting with more barbeque sauce a couple of times.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

