Skip to content

Cinnamon chip cookies

July 16, 2009

cinnamonbiksI spotted this recipe for cinnamon chip cookies on Not Quite Nigella’s site a few months ago. Finally got around to trying it out after receiving a lovely parcel from Kathy (very tolerant sis-in-law who fell victim to my shopping requests on one of her US trips). They were a little bit cake-like for my taste and too sweet (despite reducing the amount of sugar in the recipe as I always do for American recipes). I have to admit that I am not a huge fan of biscuits or cookies though…freshly baked cake, pastries, puddings are where my fault line runs. So I may not be the best judge of these cookies. Tara and Andrew loved them and quickly ate their way through the whole batch. Sam found it too sweet for his taste and a bit too much cinnamon. So next time I think I will leave out the egg, reduce the sugar some more and cut back on the cinnamon that I used to roll the dough in before baking.

Definately a nice change to chocolate chip biscuits though so worth a try. NQN also has a tip for making cinnamon chips with white chocolate for those of us without access to the Hersheys version.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 1:10 PM

    Ahh what a shame you didn’t like them so much! Some people absolutely loved them whereas I just liked them but the response was so positive (hubby brought them to work) that I was chuffed! πŸ™‚

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 16, 2009 1:17 PM

      Ah Lorraine, like you I am not a huge biscuit eater…and I have been trying to reduce the amount of sugar I consume (so everything now tastes way too sweet). I think they are a great idea for a cookie…there are lots of things I bookmark and never make so it is a compliment to you that I made them (and asked Kathy to buy the cinnamon chips for me so I could try it out)! My daughter and husband certainly had no trouble eating their way through the entire batch. πŸ™‚

  2. July 16, 2009 1:35 PM

    Yes I agree some American recipes are quite high in sugar (have you seen the Magnolia vanilla cupcake recipe-eek!). Good on you for reducing the amount of sugar. I do that too (it just gets too scary otherwise!) πŸ˜€

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 16, 2009 1:46 PM

      That’s funny – I actually make that Magnolia cookbook cupcake recipe….always to rave reviews. But I reduce the amount of sugar by a third. I gave up sugar for a couple of months at the start of the year. Didn’t think I would last more than a week, such is my addiction. But it got easier as the weeks went on and it has certainly tamed the addiction for me.

  3. July 19, 2009 2:49 PM

    mum could you make those sinomon biscits again please s.

  4. July 19, 2009 2:54 PM

    next time dont put to much sinomon s.

Leave a Reply

