Skip to content

Day of reckoning

July 17, 2009

papaya

Yesterday I went into this personal training place and booked myself in for a “consultation” appointment. I have been thinking of ditching my fitness first gym membership for a long time. Everytime the gap between visits widens to be weeks and then months I contempate quitting. This time the planets have aligned. The lebanese sweets I have been buying and consuming by the KILO have found their way onto my body, also by the kilo. The gym visits have dwindled despite almost daily plans to go. And I am missing the stress management benefits of regular exercise. So I think I am finally ready to try the personal training thing in the hope that a commitment (and someone chasing me up) will motivate me to go regularly and finally shed a few kilos. A few friends have been going to this place for a while and had remarkable success.

But thoughts of being told my body fat percentage kept me up last night. Seriously. How sad is that? Yesterday evening I thought I would eat all those things that would soon be fobidden. A cake, I thought, with lemon butter filling, lots of buttery sourdough toast….But in the end I neither made or consumed any of that stuff. Now as I am about to head off for the appointment I thought…quick, last chance to eat something bad and delicious. But instead this is what I chose to eat – lovely cold papaya. I am bracing myself for being put on a dreaded low/no carb diet and some of them don’t even allow fruit. I am sure I am psyching myself up for this to be far more painful that it will be (fingers crossed!). I am taking it as a sign that I must be truly ready for this move since I did not go the lemon butter cake route last night. At least I hope that is the case! Wish me luck…..

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2009 3:01 PM

    I think you should have lots more fruit and brekfast picturs and resipies just to have a bit more colur and exitment
    mumu your the best mum in the hole world s.

  2. spiceandmore permalink*
    July 20, 2009 11:04 AM

    Good suggestions Sam – thanks! You are far too cute…. πŸ™‚

  3. July 20, 2009 5:05 PM

    aaaaaaaaah, what a cute comment πŸ™‚

  4. July 20, 2009 5:05 PM

    Oh and good luck with the training!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 20, 2009 5:22 PM

      Thanks – I think I am going to need it! First session tomorrow morning…
      And yes, my little Sam is a real sweetie!

Leave a Reply

