Skip to content

Doughnuts

July 20, 2009

doughnutsNot quite the Italian yeasted donughts I had in mind when I set out to make them but delicious never-the-less. I would love to recreate those lovely Bombolini, preferably filled with crema that my kids got addicted to when we were in Italy last year. We have bought them a few times in Sydney from Italian pastry shops, but they never quite satisfy the kids’ memory of those breakfasts. Andrew and I would stand at the cafe bar and down a quick strong expresso while the kids had their breakfast of crema doughnuts. We were on holidays so anything goes….!!

doughnut comp

I found this recipe at Fig Jam and Line Cordial a lovely blog I have recently started following. If you visit this site, check out her tips for tempering chocolate (thought about it last night while watching the Masterchef final) and making your own vanilla extract. My doughnuts don’t look anywhere as fancy as hers, but were demolished all the same. They taste like a nicer version of doughnuts you might buy in a shop (a bit more bite and substance to them without the greasy mouth feel) rather than the yeasty Italian version. Best eaten hot…what a good excuse to eat them all!\

PS: Came home from the Coffee Festival yesterday to see that Sam my 9 year old had ‘found’ this blog and worked out how to leave some comments. Some very cute comments in Sam’s rather unique spelling…what a charmer! 🙂

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 2:15 PM

    Wow…thank you SO much for trying these out! I’m glad you liked them. You’ve made my day! 🙂

    Cheers, Celia

Trackbacks

  1. Bombolini « Spice and more

Leave a Reply

