Skip to content

Sam’s Chocolate Slice

July 24, 2009

sams choc slice

This recipe first came into our home as “Robyn’s chocolate slice”. And I think before Robyn got it, it used to be her sister “Sue’s chocolate slice”. And before that….?

Do you notice how the same recipe can result in a totally different thing in different hands? When I made the slice it was very different to Robyn’s version. Robyn’s version is firm and more like a slice….and great with a nice cup of tea. Mine tends to have a stronger chocolate taste and the texture is more brownie-like. We eventually worked out that it was the different cocoa (I used some very nice Italian stuff that resulted in a really deep chocolate colour and flavour…sadly no longer available at Fratelli Fresh), and I used shredded coconut rather than dessicated coconut resulting in less actual volume/weight of coconut and therefore a more moist end result.  Now my 9 year old Sam has started making this slice and it has become a different thing again. His version is quite fudgey and more like a chocolate-coconut brownie. I have no idea why his turns out different since the ingredients are obviously the same. The only thing I can think of is that perhaps he is more careful with measuring and mixing, and remembering to take it out of the oven on time than I am. The good thing about this slice is that whatever version you make, it is sure to be delicious.

The pictures are of Sam’s recent baking session. He first made this slice a few months ago when he remembered that he needed to take something to school for a class party the next morning, and I was on an overnight trip to Melbourne. Many calls on my mobile phone later (good thing I had just finished the training session I was running!) he managed to make, and ice the slice solo. He was rather chuffed with his efforts and proud to say that “mum could not help because she wasn’t even home”.

So here is the recipe, go forth and play with it!

Sam’s Chocolate Slice

2 cups self-raising flour
2 cups coconut (shredded or dessicated)
2 eggs lightly beaten
4 tablespoons cocoa
1.5 cup caster sugar
250gm melted butter

Mix all ingredients together and press into a baking tin. Bake in a moderately hot (180degrees C) for 20 minutes. It will still look a bit under cooked at this stage but don’t worry, all will be well. Ice with a simple glaze of icing sugar and cocoa mixed with hot water.

When I want to make it more decadent I ice it with chocolate ganache – chocolate melted and mixed in with cream and a good splodge of alcohol. I often make it gluten free (when I know I am going to be the primary consumer of the slice!) by just swapping the flour for a gluten free version.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2009 3:52 AM

    Wow, Sam made that? How cool! You have a young chef in training there. 🙂

  2. August 5, 2009 7:21 PM

    my vote goes to Sam’s version…fudgey brownie is a deadly combo

Leave a Reply

