Skip to content

A simple dinner

August 9, 2009

fried fish

I had some really delicious fried king fish at a friends house in India on my last visit and have been trying to recreate it ever since. I have come close on occasions but never manage to capture the exact taste.  Still, it is an enjoyable journey as I love eating fish. This is one form of protein I don’t mind eating (although I am not sure I could look another tuna in the eye after a few weeks of regular tinned tuna consumption in an attempt to boost protein levels. Can there really be that many tuna in the ocean as what comes out of Thailand in tiny little tins and all sorts of bizarre flavour combinations?! Just the word “tuna” is starting to give me the shivers….).

Notice, no carbs in this meal…except for a few naughty peices of carrot that found their way into my salad.

This time I went for a simpler/faster version of the fried fish so it was not even a serious recreation contender. But it felt good eating this knowing I was going to meet the dreaded protein targets and still be something I enjoyed. 

Tara and I were on our own for the night, and after a day out doing ‘girly’ stuff we decided that a simple quick meal was in order. My kids love eating fish, but Tara is still a bit wary of anything too spicy. So I modified my standard ‘recreation’ recipe and went for a milder version that could keep us both happy. And the best part was that the whole thing, including the salad took less than 15 minutes  from start to finish.

Goan Style Fried Fish

2 spanish mackeral cutlets (substitute king fish or similar firm, ‘oily’ fish)
1 tablespoon tamarind pulp (I soaked some tamarind in warm water and squeezed out the pulp)
1 teaspoon garam masala powder
1 teaspoon turmeric powder
salt and pepper

Rub the tamarind and spices on the fish and leave it to marinade for a few minutes or an hour if you have the time. Fry in a little mustard oil (or olive oil)  for a few minutes on each side. Mustard oil is fantastic for frying fish as it adds an interesting dimension to the taste – a bit of heat/spicyness as well as a mustard flavour.

The tamarind makes it more prone to burning so stick with a moderate heat for this. If you are not trying to avoid carbohydrates at night, it will be yummier if you dust the fish with some semolina or flour before you fry it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2009 6:01 AM

    Looks very healthy and delicious! I really don’t think carrots are a troublesome carb.. 🙂

  2. August 13, 2009 9:20 PM

    Thanks for sharing this recipe! I love eating low carb and this is a nice alternative for plain grilled fish 🙂

Leave a Reply

