Skip to content

Cupcake

August 11, 2009

cupcake1When it comes to food, I always try to have my cake and eat it too. On this low carb/high protein eating thing I am supposed to be on, my mind always tries to find a way around the rules so that I can still fit in my treats. I think that this dishonouring of the spirit of the diet quite likely does me no good…but it is a good mental challenge and means I don’t have to miss out on something yummy. Perhaps I need to find a happy medium between using all my carb and fat allocations in treats instead of on good fats like avocado or nuts. Hmmm….

cupcake 2cupcake 4

So I substituted some of the wheat flour for chick pea flour knowing it had lower carbohydrate and higher protein. I cut the butter back by a third and added an extra egg white for the protein and for the extra liquid/lightness. I dropped the sugar right back and used some nice 70% cocoa chocolate left in whole little chunks to give it a richness and slight bitterness. Some good quality cocoa powder also boosted the super-chocolatey-ness of this. And finally, to top it off I used some caramelised white chocolate as a bit of icing on the cupcake. The white chocolate is very sweet so it compensated for the very low sugar in the cupcake. I think it may have undone the good of cutting back on the butter in the recipe. Ah well. The recipe for the caramelised white chocolate is from David Liebowitz’s lovely blog.

It was an interesting experiment with reasonable success. I think it needs more tweaking though before I post up a recipe. Guess I will just have to make some more….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2009 5:20 PM

    That looks delicious and I love that blanket of caramelised white chocolate on the top! Thanks for the link-I have never heard of it but it sounds divine!

  2. August 12, 2009 10:15 AM

    oooh, I adore the caramelised white choc as well!

Leave a Reply

