Skip to content

Dinner in less than 10 minutes

September 2, 2009

pasta soup

Do you have a standard meal that you make on the days when you absolutely cannot be bothered to cook, but kids need feeding? This is our standard fall back meal that I can have on the table in less than ten minutes. This “pasta soup” also happens to be one of Tara’s favourite meals that she would happily eat three times a week.

There is no recipe at all. I usually choose a pasta that cooks in 5-6 minutes. I have used spaghetti broken into pieces in the picture above as we had run out of our usual shapes (tiny, quick cooking pasta). I cook the pasta in some stock. Often it is just powdered stock (of the non MSG variety) added once the water is boiling. About a minute before the pasta is cooked I throw in some frozen peas and frozen spinach (to make myself feel better that the kids are eating some veggies). I add a slug of extra virgin olive oil once I have dished it up…because I think the oil is good for the kids…and sometimes a bit of grated parmesan too. If I have some left over roast chicken or similar in the fridge I will dice it up and throw that in (while it is cooking). Depends on how energetic I am feeling. I generally make this when I really don’t want to cook, so even the idea of getting out a chopping board, let alone washing and chopping vegetables, is abhorrent.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 2, 2009 4:33 PM

    Jinx! (Again! That’s pretty spooky, Spice Girl :))

    Our “can’t be bothered” dinner is pasta soup as well! I have more free time that you, so often I’ll throw ham bones on to boil, and then just add whatever veggies are in the fridge. We also add lentils – brown ones if we have time, blue ones if we’re flush, or red ones when we’re rushed. When I’m really rushed, we use premade Continental chicken stock diluted down by half with water as the soup base. On those days, the soup is filled with frozen peas, soup pasta, onions, carrots, ham and potatoes. Ours always has parmesan or pecorino cheese on top.

    One thing we occasionally do to give it a “minestrone” type feel is to add tinned beans. The favourite here is rinsed baked beans – the boys really like the soft navy beans, but they’re hard to buy any other way.

    Celia

  2. October 1, 2009 5:13 AM

    Oh, my standard can’t-be-bothered dinner is pancakes, with fruit, cream and maple syrup! I almost always have a stack in the fridge. Sometimes though, its waffles!

Leave a Reply

