Skip to content

Beginners luck?

September 12, 2009

bread 3

bread 5

bread 4

 Celia from Fig Jam and Lime Cordial gave me a jar of liquid gold on Friday – some of her sourdough starter. I have baked bread many times before, but never sourdough bread. If I am going to really indulge in bread (which I should not eat given my issues with gluten), then it invariably is a really nice (and very expensive) loaf of sourdough…or woodfired Italian bread…or…mmm…lets face it, I have no will power to resist good bread.

As soon as I got home on Friday I started my sourdough adventure…feeding the “baby” and watching it grow and froth. Came home at midnight from a school fundraising function….and kneaded up the dough…as you do at that time of the night if you are a mad, food obsessed person like me. Shaped them up this morning and waited impatiently for the second rise. Baked a cake while I was waiting. Fed some more starter as well. Since I had so much fun shaping the bread I knew that if it was a disaster I would want to work on it again. And if it was a success it would all disappear very quickly and I would want more. Either way a second batch was going to be made this weekend. And then….hooray, they worked. Brilliant bread – perfect texture, crust, taste….if I say so myself. I was so excited but there was no one home other than the dog to get excited with me. I took a few photos and emailed them to Celia from my phone. And then very quickly ate half a baby baguette with butter and with blue cheese. Bliss.

Here are the photos for you to admire with me….yeah, I am still totally chuffed that this worked! 🙂

bread2bread 1

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2009 6:14 AM

    Gorgeous golden crust! And look at that crumb! You are a STAR.

    Andrew is going to thank me once he figures out how money you’re going to save not buying sourdough at $7 a loaf. Then again, he might not be so happy when you start buying your flour in 25 kg sacks…hahaha

    Celia

  2. September 14, 2009 7:13 PM

    That sourdough looks amazing. I can really taste the crunch from here! 😮

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      September 18, 2009 2:12 PM

      The bread was really good…and surprisingly easy (given that I had been handed a well tested and honed recipe, flour and sourdough starter ofcourse!)

  3. September 20, 2009 6:44 PM

    Liquid gold indeed! The bread looks fantastic. Something about pulling out bread from the oven that’s so satisfying.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      September 21, 2009 11:31 AM

      Yes it is a very satisfying feeling indeed…makes me childishly happy! And it fills the house with that fantastic smell of just baked bread – very dangerous for someone like me who is supposed to avoid gluten!

  4. October 1, 2009 5:14 AM

    That looks amazing…I’m always a bit worried about starting out with Sourdough as I fear it could grow and take over my house 🙂 and fridge and ….Don’t mind me.

Leave a Reply

