Skip to content

Sourdough Apple Buns

September 25, 2009

apple buns 1

An interesting experiment with the sourdough baking. I was mixing up a batch of bread when a bit of excess cooked apple mixture gave me the idea to experiment with a sweet sourdough bread. So I whipped up another batch of dough, and included the cooked apple, a couple of tablespoons of sugar, a tiny bit of nutmeg and cinnamon,  and two lightly beaten eggs. I forgot to add the olive oil as used in the standard dough recipe. I was a bit wary about leaving a raw egg dough for such a long proving time, but kept reminding myself that the really hot baking temperatures would hopefully kill off anything nasty that might develop in it. The dough was slightly softer and wetter than the normal bread dough.

It was a pretty successful experiment as the rolls were lovely and light, just a bit sweet with that hint of apple and cinnamon. A bread-like brioche without the richness and flakiness (and greasy-ness) of a normal brioche. It also had the niceness of sourdough and the long leavening time.  It even managed a lovely sourdough bread-like crust. Sam consumed just about all of the buns you can see in the picture that afternoon (I had made another loaf shaped one as well that we sliced and ate). He asked me to make some more the next morning. Sadly this time I decided that I would carefully measure everything so I could post the recipe on the blog…and with all my cooking, when I am trying to be too careful and perfect, it is a failure. So the second attempt ended up feeding the chooks and the dog who all seemed to enjoy it…but given what else they will happily eat I am not taking any reassurance from their enjoyment! The next time I make it I will try and document (without being too careful) the quantities in case you want to try it.

Here they are proving – don’t they look beautiful? I shaped them up early in the morning before going to the gym. And baked them when I got back so the family woke to the smell of lovely fresh bread….made me feel like I have a “normal” life that is not a mad rush, full of constant juggling.  A good thing, even if it is only momentary!

apple bun 2

apple bun 3

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 3:16 PM

    That all looks so good, Spice Girl! I love the “S” for Sam and “S” for Spice Girl slash. Isn’t the rhythm of sourdough breadmaking wonderful? It’s almost soothing..

    Have a great weekend!

    Celia

  2. October 1, 2009 5:11 AM

    I love the baskets. May end up making some of these…as I have a whole box of apples – yesterday i made a crumble, today a cake..and still more to go! Looks good

  3. November 23, 2011 11:27 AM

    I missed this post I don’t always seem to get notifications from your blog for some reason. Anyway they look beautiful and I hope that one day you will be able to replicate them and share the recipe. I love brioche type breads 🙂

  4. November 23, 2011 11:28 AM

    I have just figured out why! This is an old post isn’t it? Not one that you wrote last month. I am so stupid. Just ignore the comment above.

Trackbacks

  1. Sourdough hot cross buns « Spice and more

Leave a Reply

