Skip to content

Little gems

October 1, 2009

gems

Aren’t they gorgeous? (The photo does not do them justice as it was taken on my phone in the front seat of the car.) I bought these as a treat for the people I was training in Bathurst recently. A lucky recommendation from my sister led me to this lovely French Patisserie called Legall. I also bought a jar of raspberry jam for Sam after hearing that it was made by friends of the proprietors with raspberries from their own property. It is lovely and fruity and not too sweet – the only way we can eat jam in our house.

If you ever find yourself in Bathurst NSW, make sure you visit Legall’s and consume at least one of their lovely little gems!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 5:51 PM

    Stop it! I’m trying to be good today.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. October 3, 2009 3:01 AM

    Hey the spread looks quite nice. But what is the one that looks like a butterfly.It looks kinda different.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 6, 2009 2:15 PM

      hmmm…not sure which one you are referring to. Perhaps the red one which was a fruit tart – with slices of strawberry and kiwi fruit on top. I didn’t eat that one myself, but perhaps I need to research these in more details? ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. October 17, 2009 8:35 PM

    Hi,
    Love all ur little gems….awww …got to go coz u’ve worked up my appetite & am really hungry now
    but will hop in later or sooner
    btw found ya thru figs n lime cordial…lovely goan food….me love…me love

  4. Olivia permalink
    August 8, 2010 1:51 PM

    Hehe, I love these pastries! I actually live in Bathurst and am a regular customer to Legall! I usually buy a few when going to the library next door. There’s nothing better than reading a good book and eating these delicious babies on a sunny spring day!

    I love this picture because it shows my favourite pastries! Coffee choux, chocolate choux, toffee choux, strawberry and kiwi tart, and the hazlenut slice. Be sure to try a vanilla slice next time you visit! (My fav is coffee choux – the one with the choccolate ‘coffee bean’ on top.) Everyone says the lemon tart is good, but I’m not really a lemon-person.

    Would you mind if I put this picture on a blog of mine? It’s just a little website for myself that shows all the little things in life that makes me happy.

    I’ll remember to try the jam next time!

    Au revoir!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      August 11, 2010 3:08 PM

      Ah good to hear from a fan of Legall…lucky you that you live so close! Happy for you to use the picture (not a very good quality one though as it was taken with my phone). I have a feeling that their vanilla slice is going to be dangerous…. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

