Skip to content

Edible cauliflower

October 6, 2009

cauliflower

I think I have mentioned before that I don’t particularly like cauliflower. I remember seeing a naturopath many years ago who told me I was deficient in potassium or something. When she gave me the list of foods I should try and eat more of…sure enough they were all the things I didn’t particularly like. Ever since then I try to incorporate some of those foods in my meals rather than avoiding them altogether. There are about three or four ways that I find cauliflower edible. My favourite would have to be the Lebanese version where it is (probably) deep fried until quite golden and topped with a tahini dressing. But you know, all that oil puts me off. The second way would be in a curry, only barely cooked and still retaining its crunch such as I did here. The third is the version in the picture above. It takes about five minutes to make and is quite delicious. I cook it on a very high heat so that the edges get a bit crispy but the overall pieces still retain their crunch. That is the key to this dish. The “recipe” is a two liner:

1. Heat about a tablespoon of olive oil (ideally you should use sunflower or something that copes with the high heat) in a heavy metal pan. Add two teaspoons of cumin seeds and stir for a minute or two.

2. Add in about half a cauliflower chopped into smallish florets. Cook for a further few minutes on high heat. Season with salt.

That’s it! Pretty easy eh?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 6, 2009 7:45 PM

    So I bought a cauliflower with grand plans to make your cauliflower rice. That didn’t happen, and it turned into cauliflower soup. And because I’m the only one in the house who will eat it, most of it has been frozen for a later date. But it is very nice, and I’m grateful for the inspiration. I’ll try this cumin version next time..

  2. October 7, 2009 2:36 AM

    Hi,
    This is the simplest cauliflower curry I have come across. I also do have a simpler version of cauliflower curry. I season with jeera. I add onion and garlic before I saute the cauliflower.I do use curry powder while frying the onions.

    Regarding the butterfly tart I was talking abt earlier it does look like slices of strawberry dipped in some jam sort of thing..Anyway thx for clarifying that.

  3. October 18, 2009 4:35 PM

    I made this tonight, and you’re right, it’s absolutely delicious! Thanks Spice Girl.. 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 20, 2009 8:13 AM

      Glad you liked it. And doesn’t it look/taste impressive for virtually no effort?!

Leave a Reply

