Skip to content

Sasha’s birthday breakfast

October 23, 2009

Sasha's breakfast

My friend Sasha came to stay on her birthday weekend. (I say “my friend” but in fact my kids are convinced that she is their friend who I just happen to know as well.) She spent her birthday in Sydney visiting friends and family. And we scored the birthday day itself to have her (mostly) to ourselves. Tara and I made her a special breakfast – roasted fennel and mushrooms, sourdough bread straight out of the oven (a tad undercooked in fact since we were so impatient), baked eggs with spanish flavours of paprika, tomato, chorizo and a very non-Spanish slice of fetta cheese on top. Coffee, some more cheeses…and a lovely sunny morning.

Roasted mushrooms and fennel

Slice the fennel into thick slices. Depending on the mushrooms you use, you may  need to slice them as well (I used some king mushrooms which I sliced and some standard button mushrooms which I left whole). Toss them in some olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Place on a tray (in a single layer) in a hot oven and bake for 20 minutes. (Start work on the eggs once you get this into the oven so that both dishes are ready at the same time)

Baked eggs

(This is something I threw together in about five minutes…hope I have remembered all the things I threw in there!)

Butter a ramiken or oven friendly small dish. Dust with grated parmesan (this adds flavour and stops the egg from sticking). Place a slice or two of chorizo or spanish salami in the bottom (or leave this out if you want to keep the dish vegetarian). Break an egg or two over this. Add a teaspoon of tomato paste through which you mixed some hot paprika and some smoked paprika…and perhaps a sliver or two of garlic if you feel so inclined. Sprinkle a tiny bit more grated parmesan over the top. Bake in a hot oven for 5 to 10 minutes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 9:59 AM

    That sounds simply delicious. Sasha’s a lucky girl to have friend like you and Tara! I love king brown mushrooms, but they haven’t had any at the markets for weeks…sigh..

  2. sasha permalink
    October 23, 2009 11:29 AM

    Can I just say it was the best best birthday meal I have had, ever, and as Spicegirl knows – breakfast is my favorite meal. Thank you again dear friend.
    Next week I may get round to posting my barby breakfast on the noosa river!!! (But pigs might fly first) The trouble with breakfast and blog sites – as you can see in your picture – is that you can’t stop to take the picture before it all goes! Yum Yum

Leave a Reply

