Skip to content

Don’t mess with a good thing – Anzac Biscuits

November 13, 2009

anzac

I think I have mentioned before that Anzac biscuits are much loved in our home – by the kids and Andrew. They get very cross if I start experimenting with the Anzacs as I have done before with a gluten and oat free version using Quinoa flakes (reasonably good although lacking crunch) and my high protein-low fat version where the pictures said it all. I whipped up a quick batch of these the other evening when a small stampede of kids came over for a play at our house after school. It was a more attractive option than cleaning up the house…and kids have grown to expect freshly baked treats when they come over to our place. We always have the ingredients for these biscuits at home and I usually make a double or triple batch. When we go camping I make up a big box of them to take with us and they go down very well after a morning fishing at the beach….or as a late supper sitting by the camp fire. I usually bake the first few trays for slightly longer so they get crunchier  – they go in the bottom of the box and retain that slight crunch until we eat our way to the bottom of the box. (Yes, I am that crazy). We like ours a little chewy and a little crunchy – not those hard totally crunchy ones that you buy, and not a stale-tasting soft one. You will need to get to know your oven and experiment with baking times if you like yours this way too.Anzac Biscuits

1 cup rolled oats
1 cup shredded or desiccated coconut
1 cup plain flour
1 cup brown sugar (I often shave this back to 3/4 cup and nobody notices)
1/2 cup melted butter
1 teaspoon bicarb soda
1 tablespoon golden syrup
1 tablespoon boiling hot water

Mix the dry ingredients together. Mix the golden syrup and hot water and stir until dissolved. Add the bicarb soda and allow it to foam. Mix in the butter and then add all the wet ingredients to the dry. Shape into little balls and bake for 10-12 minutes @ 180 degrees centigrade.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 3:27 PM

    Yep, never mess with a good thing.. 🙂

    Camping? Sigh…this is where we diverge, O Convergent One…

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 16, 2009 12:02 PM

      That sounds like a challenge Celia….I will have to work on converting you into loving camping….

  2. November 14, 2009 9:14 AM

    Oh, how I miss ANZAC biscuits. Honestly, I had never ever heard of them 5 years ago. Now I crave them, but can’t get them. So sad. Perhaps I will use your recipe and just make my own??? 🙂 Thanks!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 16, 2009 11:58 AM

      I think you should make them – this is a really simple recipe and it makes much nicer Anzac biscuits than any you can buy (big call I know!). 🙂

  3. November 18, 2009 7:37 PM

    Ooh yes they’re such a classic, delicious biscuit and one of my favourites. I agree home made ones are better than bought 😀

  4. Suze permalink
    January 20, 2010 4:06 AM

    I would love to make these today but don’t have any golden syrup. Never heard of this syrup before and from what I read about it is not popular find here in California but not sure about that since I never had any use for it until now. Is it really necessary since the recipe asks for only 1 tbs. or can I substitute honey, molasses or maple syrup or any combination of these?
    Thanks! Suze

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      January 20, 2010 9:44 AM

      Hi Suze,
      Golden syrup must be a very Australian thing. It has a very strong and distinctive taste and even though the recipe calls for so little, it ends up being a pretty dominant part of the Anzac biscuit taste. That said though, I think maple syrup would be a good substitute. Perhaps double the quantity since it is not as strongly flavoured as golden syrup. I don’t use it for much else other than these biscuits and an occasional steamed pudding.
      Let me know how this works out for you. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

