Skip to content

Mango ice cream

December 7, 2009

I think I have mentioned before that I am not a huge fan of super rich ice creams that are full of cream, eggs and sugar. They leave a greasy feel in my mouth and all I seem to taste is the sugar. One of my self justifications for buying a rather expensive ice cream machine a few years ago was that I would make “healthier” ice creams. In summer I make lots of fruit based ice creams that have nothing much more than the fruit and a smidgen of sugar added. It works for us.

The kids have been feasting on mangoes for the last couple of months as we bought trays of mangoes every second week or so. I had been promising to make them some mango ice-cream for ages and finally got around to it. One of my memories of childhood was making mango ice-cream at home in summer. It was a big production and was a much-anticipated event. We had a wooden bucket that had to be soaked overnight so it would get almost watertight. Then a huge block of ice would have to be bought and chopped up. My mum would make the mixture with the mangoes. It was poured into a metal cylinder with a paddle inside it, that sat in the middle of the bucket and connected to a handle. Then lots of ice and salt would be packed firmly around the metal cylinder. My uncle would arrive to do most of the work turning the handle to churn the ice cream. All of us kids would take turns in churning the ice cream, finally handing over to my uncle as it started to firm up and got harder to turn. It was a big production that took all afternoon. And the ice cream was certainly the best I have ever eaten. The best bit was right at the bottom of the metal container – the really hard bit…and ofcourse licking the paddle clean! Is it just memory that makes me think it was so fantastic….or lack of experience with other ice cream? I know that it is certainly a taste of mango ice cream that I seem to spend my life chasing.

In contrast to my childhood experiences of making mango ice cream, it is a very quick and simple approach in our home (what memories will that create for my kids I wonder….!). I sliced the flesh of two big mangoes and popped them into a blender with a couple of tablespoons of caster sugar. Gave it an extra long whizz in the blender so that the sugar could dissolve (I could not be bothered making a sugar syrup and cooling it down, etc). Then I popped it into the ice cream machine and turned it on. When I checked it at the 10 minute mark I thought it had too strong a taste of mango, such that it almost tasted like fake or tinned mango (strange but true). So I decided to add some milk. Since I was planning on eating some of it as well, I used some hazelnut milk while the kids were not watching (they are not impressed with the concept of hazelnut milk). Turned it back on and about 10 minutes later it was ready.

Sam and Tara declared it to be the best mango ice cream ever. Me? I think it is not as good as the mango ice cream we had as kids!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 4:58 AM

    We do spend a lot of time chasing “taste memories”, don’t we? 🙂

    It looks wonderful – and sounds very healthy too!

  2. December 8, 2009 7:16 AM

    Chasing memories…what an amazing term! Describes some of my childhood….like Tonka beans do. This icecream sounds great. I haven’t used my ice cream machine in ages but this would be nice, maybe with some yoghurt…..Kulfi springs to mind!

  3. spiceandmore permalink*
    December 8, 2009 10:37 AM

    Yes, ‘chasing memories’ is a pretty apt term for a lot of my cooking…particularly when it comes to Indian food. I make a pretty nice kulfi in the ice cream machine…will have to do it again soon and post up the recipe.
    I have never tried Tonka beans….intriguing…must look for some.

  4. December 8, 2009 5:43 PM

    Who would have thought that making ice cream would be as much fun as eating it 🙂

    The ice creams looks wickedly delicious. One of my friends got me ‘Amrakhand’. Its a shreekhand wich has mango bits in it. Nice.

Leave a Reply

