Skip to content

It’s begining to feel a lot like Christmas….

December 10, 2009

Christmas cakes are baked and wrapped up in all their brandy and rum fumes. Shortbread to nibble on and the kids’ Christmas cards in the background. I gave up doing Christmas cards many years ago. One year I bought them, wrote them and never quite took them to the post office. The next year I bought them but didn’t write them. The following year (about 10 years ago) I finally gave up even attempting to do them. But now my kids love writing Christmas cards and painstakingly decorate them for all their friends and classmates. They take great pleasure in handing them out with little candy canes. So for the last week or so there has been a flurry of card writing and decorating. Quite a few candy canes getting consumed in the process.

Tara sings Christmas carols all day (which is so sweet and the main cause/source of the “Christmas good cheer” spirit I am feeling this year). Or could it be due to the freedom from guilt or angst related to buying 34 Christmas presents for extended family? Last year I spat the dummy about Christmas presents and we dragged both sides of the family into agreement that we wont buy each other presents.  I had tried the softly softly approach in previous years with very limited success. Now I feel smug if I happen to wander into a shopping center and see everyone scurrying around lugging huge bags of “stuff” knowing that I don’t have to do it. No guilt for the over consumption and a bit of a warm glow from donating the money to charity instead. And since we are going away this year, I don’t even have to think about cooking up any big feasts. Such freedom! I even bought myself a new red dress the other day….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2009 12:29 AM

    Yum I love the way you’ve decorated the cakes and thankyou for reminding me! I totally forgot about Christmas cards and I still need to do some Christmas shopping!

  2. December 11, 2009 5:11 AM

    Gorgeous! Now aren’t you glad you bought those mini loaf pans? 🙂

    Good for you for standing your ground re the Christmas presents – all that shopping really is like torture! I love that your kids are always so enthusiastic…

    Celia

Leave a Reply

