Skip to content

Lunch – day 1

December 17, 2009

Ok so the reason I was confused about it being so dark outside when I woke up was because it was really early, not because we had slept through the entire day! I made the rest of the family wale up at 10.50 since breakfast at the Hotel ended at 11. After that we went for a stroll only to discover that it was 8.30 and not 11.30 like I thought. All I can say is that not one of the 30 tv channels shows the time!
So we went back to the hotel and I got back into bed. The kids did some painting for an hour or so before we left in search of food.
After a bit of searching we found one of our favourite noodle and dumplings places in the Takashimaya building. The best hand pulled noodles. We had a spicy one with a peanut sauce too but ate it too fast for a photo. Great dumplings. An hour browsing around a fantastic bookshop (another favourite weekend haunt when we lived in Singapore) and a big pile of books for us all. Eat my globe- about a guy who spends a year trying to find the best food in the world and does it by connecting up with food bloggers. Very appropriate given that I have a list of food recommendations from food bloggers in three of the four cities we are visiting. And the book was recommended by one of them – Kalyan from finely chopped who has also invited us to dinner! He is cooking…Yum. I also got Girl with a dragon tattoo and another book about not being a perfect mother (another appropriate book for me!)
After lunch I had an hour long foot reflexology massage. Pure bliss, and now my brain has definately slowed down to holiday pace.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 7:15 PM

    Oh you sound so mellow! 🙂 Glad to hear you’re having such a good time…

  2. December 17, 2009 8:50 PM

    🙂 good idea to tank up on the dumplings. We are preparing a Dante’s Inferno for garam masala and ghee and mutton for you 🙂

    Eat my Globe is a great travel companion

    See you soon

  3. December 17, 2009 8:51 PM

    that should have read ‘of’ g m ….

Leave a Reply

