Skip to content

“Home again”

December 24, 2009

So much to write, so little Internet connection!
Back in India. A few days in Mumbai and quite a few stories I will save for later.
Driving the kamikaze road from Mumbai to Pune we had to stop at the wada pav place. See picture below. This is one of the foods I crave. Just looking at it makes me feel I am home. It is a spicy potato ball dipped into a chickpea batter and deep fried. Served on a little bread roll with some chutney and a fried green chilli. I won’t tell you how many I ate!
And now we are staying in my old home in Pune for the first time in 28 years. It is such a strange feeling. The house itself does not seem all that much smaller as you would expect with a visit back to a childhood home. But strangely the street blocks around here seem tiny. My memory of walking around here is quite the opposite and when I arrive at an old friends house in just a few strides I question if it is the right place – it should take me much longer to walk there!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. December 25, 2009 7:21 AM

    vada pao…hat’s off to the intrepid travellers…the Mersey Valley cheese was fantastic and almost matched to cookies

  2. Sharmila permalink
    January 19, 2010 6:03 AM

    Oh wow, you stopped by Ramakant’s!! Just looking at the photo has got me drooling…the chilli, the salt, the lasan chutney…must-look-away-before-going-into-sensory-overload!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      January 19, 2010 11:44 AM

      Oh yeah. Isn’t it the best?!

Leave a Reply

