Skip to content

Is the holiday really over so soon?

January 10, 2010

Back in Sydney….quiet, clean Sydney. Quite a relief to breathe in the (relatively) clean air, travel on roads free of chaos, honking horns, diesel fumes and the rest. Lots of green stuff all around, our comfortable bed, and three days with nothing to do/nowhere we have to go and phones still turned off. We have spent the last two days lying in bed sleeping or reading. The kids have fended for themselves and happily rediscovered their home, toys and dog. Luckily my sister invited us over for a bbq last night as it was the only ‘real meal’ we have eaten. Andrew had to have a big steak yesterday (three weeks of Asian food had left him hankering for steak with chips), Sam is fiercely vegetarian again so he ate a bit of salad and Tara and I enjoyed a bit of everything that was on offer. Particularly the prawns we had marinated in some of the lovely reinchaad masala I had brought back with me from Goa.

One of the first things I had to do, after picking up the dog, was to check to see if my sourdough starter had survived the three weeks of neglect. I fed it a couple of times, each time I emerged from my travel recovery slumber, and then made up a big batch of dough. So today we have lived on sourdough bread and not much else. Not sure what, if anything the kids ate. Terrible parents.

So it’s nice to be home but also sad to be away from my other ‘home’. I feel like I didn’t manage to eat all the food I wanted to, and yet I know that I have almost certainly put on all the weight I worked so hard to lose for six months before the trip. I am definitely not looking forward to my first appointment back with the personal trainer next week!

I will try and post some photos and stories from the trip over the next few weeks. Lots to tell….hope I get to it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2010 6:04 AM

    Yaaay! She’s baaack.. 🙂

    Sounds like you had a great time…

    Celia

  2. January 11, 2010 2:18 PM

    I feel the same way about holidays. Shouldn’t we have a holiday to help get over the initial holiday? Please?

Leave a Reply

