Skip to content

Choriz Pau

January 18, 2010

“Choriz pau” are words that will spark the interest of anyone with even just a few drops of Goan blood in them. It is a taste sensation that we all search for and try (usually unsuccessfully) to recreate  – those of us who no longer have easy access to Goa or its products that is.

Tara called these “Goan burgers”. This was our standard breakfast fare most days that we were in Goa. Goa sausage is a fiery, tangy pork sausage that probably started life off as a Portuguese chorizo (Goa was a Portuguese territory until 1961) and then became much, much spicier, hotter and tangier from the local Goan influence. It is cooked for quite a long time in a pan with some sliced red onions, a little water, a splash of vinegar and sometimes diced potato as well. We layered it onto a small bread roll (“pau”) that is very typical of the very plain bread rolls you find in Goa (another Portuguese influence) and topped it with a fried egg. Delicious.

I am planning yet another attempt to make some of these goa sausages at home. Stay tuned for the report on how well I go. I have a secret that is sure to help this time – spice mixture as mixed and ground for me in Goa by one of our old neighbours in the village where our house it. And ground with the very special goa vinegar – can it get any better? Yes, I think so. I will use some lovely free range pork and hope to get the best of both Goa and Sydney!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2010 6:57 PM

    hehe cute name! I thought the Pau was like Pow as in the flavour it packed! 😀

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      January 19, 2010 11:45 AM

      I think I like your version of “POW” better! 🙂 I might need to add in a few lightening bolts or other such super hero accessories….

  2. January 20, 2010 11:43 AM

    Really flash bacon and egg rolls? 🙂 They look delicious – and of course, you know “pau” is the Chinese word for bread dumpling, as in “char siu pau”. Secret spice mixes, of course you have them, you wouldn’t be the Spice Girl otherwise!

  3. January 21, 2010 6:46 AM

    What an apart & lovely name!! Bacon & egg rolls all spiced up !!

    MMMMMMMM,…

  4. Ellis Fernandes permalink
    February 21, 2010 2:48 PM

    have you tried our Dorelli Goan chouriso made in Melbourne, Australia?? available in indian stores at the moment, goan sausages are great with scrambled eggs and also can be used in various dishes

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      February 26, 2010 12:17 PM

      Thanks for letting me know about them – I will keep an eye out for them. Haven’t spotted them as yet in any of the Indian shops I go to.

    • Siluki permalink
      June 25, 2012 11:57 PM

      I’m visiting my dtr in the Blue Mountains in December and would like to buy some chourico in Aus, do you know if the Dorelli is available in Sydney or the Blue Mountains? thank you!

    • Elvis D'sa permalink
      August 27, 2012 4:06 PM

      Please provide me the details how to get packed Dorelli sausages mailed to Sydney.

    • siluki permalink
      August 27, 2012 6:24 PM

      Please, please, please…..could someone tell me too if I can buy Dorelli chouriso sausages in and around Sydney and the Blue Mountains. Thanks!

      • spiceandmore permalink*
        August 28, 2012 9:38 AM

        You are in luck! I just happen to have a packet of Dorelli sausages in my fridge at the moment (bought for me by my mother at the Goa day celebrations weekend before last). They are apparently happy to post orders to anywhere in Australia. Details are: m_soares@bigpond.com and Maria’s mobile number is 0421897676.

      • siluki permalink
        August 28, 2012 10:09 AM

        Thank you for maria’s contact details, spiceandmore. ! live in England, but will be in Aus for all of Dec and want to buy chouriso while there to cook for my family…. I hear that the Dorelli ones are good.

      • spiceandmore permalink*
        August 29, 2012 7:25 PM

        I will let you know what I think of them when I cook this packet I have at the moment. Fingers crossed that they are good!

      • spiceandmore permalink*
        August 28, 2012 9:40 AM

        Should have mentioned as well, on the packet I have, it shows the price is based on $33/kg.

    • siluki permalink
      August 29, 2012 8:10 PM

      Ellis I have just worked out that you are the owner of Dorelli ! Does Dorelli have a website? I can’t seem to find one. Thanks.

    • Clayton permalink
      August 1, 2013 6:55 PM

      Hi Ellis, I need to pick up some of your Dorelli Sausages in Melbourne. Can you please advise where I can pick this up from?

  5. Brenda permalink
    November 16, 2011 11:46 AM

    Hi – Where in Melbourne are Goa Sausages available??

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 20, 2011 10:49 AM

      There is a company based in Perth that makes and sells sausages through Indian grocery stores. I wasn’t too impressed with them to be honest and have not found anything even close to the real goa sausage flavour. Sorry, wish I had better news!

      • Siluki permalink
        June 26, 2012 12:03 AM

        Are these sausages from the Mac Marshall company? They are the only ones I have found on the internet and thought of buying them when I visit my dtr in Aus. Their 2009 price for 2kgs was $60 including postage – quite steep and probably now higher in 2012. So I am pleased that I saw your post spiceandmore! It would be a pain to pay a lot for little satisfaction….

  6. siluki permalink
    August 29, 2012 11:32 PM

    Oops! spiceandmore, I did not mean that YOU were the Dorelli owner, I thought I was answering a post from Ellis dated Feb 21 2010 above…..
    I googled ‘Dorelli’ and Ellis came up as the owner and in the above post he used the term ”our sausages”.
    I was addressing Ellis not you. Apologies for the misunderstanding

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      August 31, 2012 2:18 PM

      Sorry Siluki, I realised my mistake after I wrote that reply. Then I had to quickly get off my high horse and delete it! Sorry you got to see if before I deleted it.

      • siluki permalink
        August 31, 2012 6:13 PM

        🙂 that’s ok. I enjoy your blog so much and am looking forward to your comments on the Dorelli sausages when you cook them!

      • spiceandmore permalink*
        October 8, 2012 12:48 PM

        I finally cooked up that packet of Dorelli sausages on the weekend. Pretty good. Not too fatty…nice taste of spices. I added a little extra Goa vinegar and would have added a tiny bit more chilli if my kids weren’t eating it too. They had a slightly sweet taste, but that may have been from the onions (I followed the instructions on the packet). I found the texture a little disappointing compared to the real Goa sausages – a coarse mince that became quite soft and lacking in texture after the long cook. I am buying some more (my sister is ordering some so I will get some more at the same time to help make up the order) so it is definitely good enough for a repeat purchase. Probably the nicest version of the locally made “Goa sausages” I have tried….but sadly still not as fantastic as the original!

      • siluki permalink
        October 9, 2012 12:14 AM

        Thanks for the information spiceandmore, it’s very helpful. Shame about the Dorelli sausages being minced. Here in England, Goan restaurants also have a minced version which, exactly as you describe, do not stand up to long cooking. I will order some anyway to get to my daughter in time for my holiday in Australia. Thanks again!
        A fellow stall-holder in a market in the Blue Mountains told my dtr that Dorelli sausages are availble in a store in the area. If we dont succeed in getting these then I shall go directly to Dorelli’s
        Thank you again!

  7. Don permalink
    December 22, 2012 10:24 PM

    I’ll back up spiceandmore’s comments about that Mac Marshall brand being unimpressive. Don’t waste your money ‘and’ dissapoint yourself with the taste. It’s just a waste of time and does not taste anything like the original. Not not posting this to rubbish them….just to prompt more searching…. and encourage someone who wants to have a go at making some commercially.

    • siluki permalink
      December 24, 2012 2:38 PM

      Hi – I’m in Australia at last having a wonderful time with my daughter’s family. An Indian friend of hers who makes and sells ”Taj” brand foods, sourced some Goa Sausage for us. We had some recently and they were not bad at all – not a patch on eating them in Goa of course, but pretty good. Nice chunky lean meat, and spicy too; hot but not toooooo hot. Here are the details from the outer wrapper:
      Made by Casa de Goa (since 1997) P.O.Box 10, 52 Rawson St, Epping NSW 2121. Website: http://www.casadgoa.com Email: casadgoa@bigpond.net.au. $13 for 394gms. Not sure how they compare with the Dorelli or Mac Marshall varieties. I’ve searched for the latter 2 in the Blue Mountains with no luck so I cannot compare them for myself.
      Merry Christmas everyone!

      • spiceandmore permalink*
        January 9, 2013 4:49 PM

        Thanks for the recommendation! I will try and track some down. I hope you are coping with the hot weather. Let me know if you make it to Sydney and need some tips on where to eat etc.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      January 9, 2013 4:53 PM

      Have you tried the Taj brand that Siluki recommended in her comment? I am going to have to try and track some down. Be interested to hear your opinion of them if you do try them. The quest continues…!!

      • siluki permalink
        January 12, 2013 4:37 AM

        Hi spiceandmore. Sadly I am back now in the UK – cold and damp and foggy!! Had a wonderful time in Aus with my dtr and her little family. Made several trips to Sydney.
        Btw the Goa Sausage I mentioned that we tried, was by a NSW company called ”Casa de Goa” see my previous post for the address. The Taj food man told my dtr about their sausages. Sorry for any confusion…….and carry on the quest!

Leave a Reply

