Skip to content

Food of love – part 2

February 4, 2010

Andrew does not cook very often, but when he does, he puts in a pretty impressive effort. If I insist that he cook on a week night (the day he picks the kids up from school should be his responsibility entirely, I say), it is invariably the meal he likes to eat – steak with either a potato salad/coleslaw or with chips and an egg. And it invariably irritates me. Something about him cooking the meal that he likes to eat tends to grate on me. Why not cook something that I like to eat…or something different for a change? hmm?

But every now and then he will plan a day to cook for me, and on that day he is willing to tackle anything at all. He once made me this Balinese duck salad from a recipe from the Bathers Pavillion cookbook I think. It was this ridiculously involved thing with about 20 steps starting with pounding up a curry paste as a marinade for the duck, then wrapping it in banana leaves and steaming it, then shredding it for the salad….etc.  It was absolutely sensational….and I can’t say that I would ever bother with all those steps myself!

A couple of weeks ago when the kids were having a sleep over at my parents place I came home late from work expecting that we would go out for dinner. I was greeted with this feast. Not only the feast but a clean kitchen too! I may cook many feasts myself but I always, always trash the kitchen in the process.

Here is what he made:

Oysters – with a lovely dressing made with lime, sesame oil, fish sauce, ginger and coriander. Really nice.

Some lovely cheese and flat bread

Garlic herb prawns

Tuna and fig on skewers – barbequed. An unusual combination that was quite nice.

Not bad eh?! It even ticked the box for the low carb/high protein dinner we are supposed to be eating at night.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 4, 2010 6:41 PM

    Gosh…time to go to Sydney

  2. February 5, 2010 5:41 AM

    Wow, that man of yours never fails to impress! It all looks delicious, particularly the tuna and fig skewers..

  3. February 5, 2010 7:37 AM

    Holy Oysters, Batman! Those look outstanding. In fact, the whole meal looks amazing- huge points to the hubbie!

  4. February 6, 2010 2:40 AM

    You are one lucky woman! Yeah!! Beautiful food!

  5. February 8, 2010 11:35 PM

    How fabulous! And he ticked all the boxes for nutrition/diet too! 😮 Could he have a word to my husband please? 😀

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      February 15, 2010 4:23 PM

      Well I am glad you guys all gave Andrew a lot of compliments. When he saw the link I sent him after posting this article, he was slightly offended as he thought I made him sound like a “red neck who only cooks steak and chips”. Now ofcourse after reading all these lovely comments he is walking around feeling quite pleased with himself!

Leave a Reply

