Skip to content

My lunch today

February 26, 2010

I decided that I had to be good today and eat something healthy. Perhaps inspired by my partner at the boxing class this morning who told me about all the weight she has lost on this crazy program I am supposed to be on. Perhaps just inspired by guilt that I keep paying ridiculous amounts of money each week for a personal trainer and then disregard everything he says to explain why I keep putting on weight rather than losing it. Hmm. Daily cake eating is not compatible with weight loss ambitions.

So today I am going to be good. I decided to make a salad even though I knew there wasn’t much that was green and edible in my fridge. Looking out at the garden I saw that my herbs were flourishing and that gave me the idea to use herbs for  greenery in the salad. I had already decided to use tinned tuna as the base of the salad (protein, protein!) and to my surprise it was cat-food like tuna in brine (obviously bought during another short-lived burst of weight  loss enthusiasm). The herbs really compensate for the lack of taste you get from tuna in oil and I could have almost done without the dressing. It was surprisingly quick to prepare and picking stuff from the garden made me feel happy.

Tuna and herb salad

1/2 red capsicum sliced or diced as you prefer
A few cherry tomatoes
200g tinned tuna
handful of parsley
handful of basil (I used sweet basil and hot thai basil)

For the dressing:

1/2 small red onion finely diced
1 heaped teaspoon dijon mustard
1 tablespoon olive oil
1-2 tablespoons sherry vinegar
1 small garlic clove finely minced
1 hot red chilli finely diced
salt and pepper to taste

Prepare the dressing first. Mix all of the ingredients together in a small bowl and allow to sit for 5-10 minutes. The acid in the vinegar will partially ‘cook’ and soften the onion and garlic and make them less potent – always a good thing if you work near other people!

Mix the other ingredients together. I roughly tore up the sweet basil leaves and left the hot basil leaves whole. Cutting basil tends to make the leaves turn brown. At the last minute toss through the dressing and pop the lid on your container and head off to work. Given the ingredients of this salad, it does not matter that you will have it sitting in dressing for a few hours before consuming. In fact this actually allows the flavours from the dressing to seep through and permeate the tuna. If you had lettuce leaves you may want to add the dressing just before eating.

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 5:37 PM

    Sigh. I’m reading this stuffed to the gills with bhelpuri that you gave me, feeling quite guilty for overeating! I’m glad one of us was good today.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

