Skip to content

Breakfast at our “farm”

March 12, 2010

Did I mention that I was excited about our home made bacon? Oh yes, that’s right I did…. 🙂

Sam aspires to have a farm….and his dream is elaborate and detailed. So elaborate that it almost has me thinking about it as a possible future life. Almost. Not enough cafes and food providores for me in the country though! After Santa didn’t deliver on the cow and goat the kids asked for, they started saving up to buy their own. Until then they have to put up with the animals we currently have.  So our “farm” has produced the home made sourdough bread, the freshly laid eggs from Sam’s chooks, and the home made (but not home grown) bacon. All we need now are some coffee plants….

I had the opposite reaction to what you might expect when I opened the mail this morning. A letter inviting Sam to an interview at one of the private schools for which he sat an entrance exam a few weeks ago. They want the interview next week….needless to say I will choose the last date available in an attempt to drag out the process as much as possible. Damn these efficient schools! Looks like we will have to make a decision in less than a month. I have to confront all my fears and hang ups about private schools before I pick him up from school today, so I can be suitably excited about him doing well enough in the exam to get to the interview stage. Deep and meaningful conversation with Andrew this morning over breakfast….our aspirations and hopes for Sam. I going to have to make up lists of pros and cons, fears and hopes. Luckily my personal trainer has started a degree course at university this year – he attended that school and unbeknownst to him, has been making me worried about this school. “If all they end up doing after school is become a personal trainer then perhaps we should send Sam to a free public school and give him the $200,000 we would spend on private school fees towards starting a business or buying a home (farm?) instead”. That is the horrible A+ personality monster in me speaking. I have a lot of “issues” (said in best Kath & Kim tone) to deal with before I can work out which will be the best path for Sam to travel on for the next few years. Sigh. I am standing in that wood, and there are many paths diverging before us. Do we take the path I have travelled because I know it well and can advise him on some of the pitfalls….or do we try one of those well manicured paths with perfect hedges (private school), or another overgrown, bendy, but oh so interesting path….? I know I have posted this before, but it seems so apt today that I feel you must read it again with me.

Road Not Taken by Robert Frost

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;

Then took the other, as just as fair
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that, the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,

And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
two roads diverged in a wood, and I —
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 10:35 AM

    Boy. I can see what we’ll be talking about at the markets today. 🙂

  2. March 12, 2010 3:02 PM

    Good luck with your decisions. I am sure it is not easy.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 15, 2010 12:10 PM

      Thanks Mark. I am sure I made it harder than it needed to be….but it was a worthwhile exercise to go through. At least I feel more confident in the decision now.

  3. March 13, 2010 11:21 PM

    It is well. Take it easy and I hope you make the decision that is the best.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 15, 2010 12:10 PM

      Thanks for the calming words….I am over the crisis of angst now and think I have worked out what to do. Seems all very clear and logical to me…now. Not before!

  4. March 15, 2010 8:59 PM

    Hi, deciding for someone else is such a big responsibility. I am sure you will make the right decision. And I am sure that there will be a farm somewhere

Leave a Reply

