Skip to content

French toast

March 19, 2010

My kids love eating French toast for breakfast. It feels like a decadent treat on a school day, yet does not really take much longer to make than scrambled eggs. I started making French toast as a way of tricking Tara the reluctant breakfast eater into eating eggs and something substantial for breakfast. My ‘recipe’/method is pretty simple, nothing fancy. If we want to be fancy we sprinkle some cinnamon sugar on top. That is about as fancy as I can manage on a busy morning rushing to get kids and myself out of the door and at school and work on time.

French Toast

A few slices of thick cut bread – 1 to 2 slices per person (we use our home made sourdough, usually a few days old. The version in the picture was actually bread that had just come out of the oven – the kids were desperate for French toast)
1 egg per person you are cooking for
About 1/4 to 1/2 cup of milk (depending on your bread and how much it is capable of soaking)
1 teaspoon of caster sugar per person
butter

Beat the eggs, milk and sugar quite well in a bowl. Soak the bread in this mixture, turning each slice after a couple of minutes. Heat a heavy pan (or a non stick one). Add a little knob of butter and quickly place one of the slices on top of the butter before it melts. Cook on low to moderate heat as the sugar can make it burn easily. After a minute or two flip it over and cook on the other side. Remove to a plate and sprinkle some cinnamon sugar on top if you want to be fancy.

If you want to be really fancy you can add some cream to the mixture (which we do when we have some in the fridge), and some freshly grated nutmeg.  Most often it is just bread, milk and a tiny bit of sugar in our house. I use a high egg to milk ratio as my real objective is to get them to eat an egg! Hopefully you will end up with something that is crispy on the outside with a taste of caramelised sugar (the butter really helps with flavour here), and soft and custard like in the middle. So nice that I brave the dairy and sneak in a few bites myself!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 8:28 AM

    Jinx! You’re scaring me, girl, I made french toast for Big Boy this morning! Really! 🙂

    He had his with bacon, mushrooms and maple syrup..

  2. March 19, 2010 11:15 AM

    My sister and hubby love French toast as well. You have inspired me to make it tomorrow 🙂

  3. March 19, 2010 8:21 PM

    I’m addicted to French toast-it’s a sickness, if I see it on a menu I feel very compelled to order it! 😛

  4. March 21, 2010 7:39 AM

    I am not a massive French toast eater but yours looks pretty good. I might need to reconsider to breakfast choices.

  5. March 22, 2010 6:23 AM

    MMMMMM,…your French toast looks so tempting!!

  6. December 31, 2012 1:32 PM

    I’ve learnt soomething today. Having never been taught to cook, I always made french toast by simply dipping the bread into beaten egg with salt and pepper. So quick and easy and it fills up my “forever starving” teenage boys. I never realized it was supposed to be a sweet treat.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      January 9, 2013 4:50 PM

      A savoury version sounds good too. It’s a pretty healthy and filling snack for hungry kids, and savoury sounds healthier than sweet!

Leave a Reply

