Skip to content

The delightful red radish

March 23, 2010

The gorgeous pinky red of radishes makes me  happy. Just looking at them makes me feel good. I buy bunches of them when they are in season, and I liberally add them to salads. My kids will have to learn to love them. There are too many radish slices in the salads for them to pick out!

Fattoush type of salads are very popular in our home at the moment. All that summery crunch is a good thing. And what a perfect excuse to indulge in some pomegranate molasses! I had that bottle of pomegranate molasses sitting in my pantry for many months as I was quite unsure what to do with it. Now it sits on the bench, since it is used so often. My favourite use of it is as a dressing. I just whisk some pomegranite molasses with an equal quantity of extra virgin olive oil for a gorgeous dressing which really makes this salad sing. This is not a real fattoush as I have not put in the crispy bread with it. When I do add the bread, I usually drizzle a little olive oil over the chopped up Lebanese bread, sprinkle on some cinnamon and other middle eastern type of spices, and oven roast them for 5-10 minutes. This makes a perfect crunchy, cinammony ‘crouton’ without any deep frying.

The salad has cucumber, radishes (ofcourse!), avocado, celery, carrot, red capsicum, parsley and mint.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 12:48 PM

    Look at those colours! Just gorgeous…

  2. March 25, 2010 12:00 PM

    Your photo screams “CRUNCH”! Radishes are a required taste for your young buds. The only reason I ate them as a young child, because my father carved them into roses.

  3. March 25, 2010 12:01 PM

    Your photo screams “CRUNCH”! Radishes are an acquired taste for young buds. The only reason I ate them as a young child, because my father carved them into roses.

  4. April 2, 2010 7:47 PM

    A lovely & colourful tasty radish salad!!

    I think this would be so tasty beside grilled fish!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 6, 2010 12:05 PM

      Grilled fish…good idea!

Leave a Reply

