Skip to content

Potato Salad

March 30, 2010

I make a pretty good potato salad…if I say so myself. I am not great at making salads in general so I feel disproportionately happy when someone asks me to make my ‘famous’ potato salad. Sam absolutely loves this salad and would happily eat it every day. I now have to make a double quantity every time, just so I  can hide some in the fridge for him as his secret stash.

The ingredients vary slightly depending on what I have on hand. The version in the picture is the ‘ideal’ as it has dill, mustard and a tiny bit of sour cream – extras that I don’t always have in the fridge.

Potato salad

(No quantities to this ‘recipe’. Just start with how many potatoes you have or that you want to cook)

  • Potatoes – ideally use something slightly waxy such as desirees. It also works well with new potatoes. Peel if you wish, or just wash well and cook with skin on. Cook them in salted water until they are well done – it is perfect if they are slightly soft around the edges. Make sure the potatoes are totally cool before mixing in the rest of the ingredients.
  • Spring onions – usually two to three is enough as you don’t want too strong an oniony taste. Slice fine, green bits and all.
  • A few sprigs of dill – roughly chopped
  • 1 -2 teaspoons of seeded mustard
  • Good quality whole egg mayonnaise (this is really the main ‘secret’ to my salad) – use enough so that all the potatoes are covered, but not so much so that you drown them in mayonnaise. The picture above has a tablespoon of sour cream mixed in with the mayonnaise which is why it looks ‘saucier’ than it usually is.
  • Sour cream – see note above
  • Mix all of the above, fairly roughly. You do want the potatoes to get a little bashed around so that the flavours meld a little.
  • Smoked salmon – the other ‘secret’ that makes this salad feel very decadent. Tear the smoked salmon into bite sized pieces and gently fold through the salad. Pop the salad in the fridge or eat it straight away. If it is going in the fridge, try to take it out about 30 minutes before you plan to eat it.
9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 4:16 PM

    OOh, that sounds delicious, I love potato salad! How unusual to see one with smoked salmon in it! Some of the nicer ones I’ve had have a grated boiled egg over the top of them too.

  2. March 31, 2010 6:58 PM

    Tasty, tasty, tasty. Looks very tasty 🙂
    I am loving salads at the moment.

  3. March 31, 2010 10:37 PM

    Hi there
    I love smoked salmon, I must try your recipe , looks so delicious!
    Cheers

  4. April 1, 2010 9:21 PM

    Looks gorgeous and I have to agree with the addition of sour cream and dill, two of my favourite flavours for a potato salad and give it that little bit extra creaminess and flavour. Happy Easter! 😀

  5. April 2, 2010 5:20 PM

    Looks good….I love the ‘creamy’, slightly crushed, herby flavours!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 6, 2010 12:06 PM

      Yes the ‘rough handling’ of the salad is to slightly crush the potatoes so that the flavours get all creamy and mashed. My favourite part of the salad is the squished up bits!

  6. April 2, 2010 7:46 PM

    MMMMM,..a smoked salmon & potato salad,..this one looks very appetizing & so tempting too!

  7. elenarego permalink
    April 5, 2010 2:46 AM

    I love that you don’t do quantities here. I’m the same way. Just throw in what I have an let myself be guided by sight and taste. This looks absolutely delicious!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 6, 2010 12:01 PM

      It is a nice relaxed way to cook isn’t it?! 🙂

Leave a Reply

