Skip to content

Home-made bacon – the second batch

April 5, 2010

Did I show you the photo of my second batch of home-made bacon? The one I started making a short week after the excitement of the successful first batch? It is nearly gone now and I am about to start on batch three.

This time I used the loin and belly – to get a less fatty version of bacon. I tried cutting back on the salt and used brown sugar instead of maple syrup. The end result? Not as great as the first batch but still pretty damn good. I think that it still needs the decent amount of salt, particularly for a bigger piece of meat (3 kg this time). It lost 10% of its weight in liquid after the salt and brown sugar treatment. The maple syrup while not being a distinctive taste in the end result of the first batch did give a nicer, more mellow flavour. So next time I will use this same loin/belly cut but use more salt and go back to the maple syrup. We smoked it for four hours this time and it was much smokier in taste…a good thing in my book. The almost three kilos of bacon disappeared fairly quickly once a few little packets were delivered to friends and family….not to mention a certain person in this house gorging himself on bacon. And a certain other creature desperately hoping and waiting for some scraps….

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 8:53 PM

    The first lot was delicious! This batch looks very good too – perhaps more “bacon” like?

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 6, 2010 12:03 PM

      Yes it certainly looks more like the bacon we are used to buying here in Australia. I think that belly pork is more the standard sort of cut they use for what they call “American bacon”. I am going to have to buy a meat slicer if I keep making this bacon…this cut of meat is harder to cut into thin slices than the thinner/smaller belly pork bacon

  2. April 5, 2010 10:35 PM

    Bacon’s my favourite amongst cold cuts. Am so proud to know someone who can actually make it πŸ™‚

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 6, 2010 11:58 AM

      It is so easy to make the bacon and the end result is soooo much better than a bought version. Go on Kalyan, I think you should make some too!

  3. April 6, 2010 8:05 PM

    Hope I will someday πŸ™‚

  4. April 8, 2010 9:46 PM

    Love to see when someone makes the effort to home make something we take so much fro granted in shops, think I may make the effort myself and see where it takes me, as am sure I can tailor the cure to add different flavour notes to the bacon.

    love the blog,

    Alex

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 15, 2010 2:51 PM

      Thanks Alex. Yes, I think I will play with the flavours in the cure next time too (despite being given pleading instructions to stick to the original salt and maple syrup of the first batch).

Leave a Reply

