Skip to content

Paprika almonds

April 15, 2010

A  simple, delicious, relatively nutritious and cheap little snack to have with drinks. What more could you ask for?

You can often pick up a bag of almonds for about $12/kilo. I simply soaked the almonds in some water for about 15 minutes while my oven warmed up to 150 C. Then I drained them, poured a little olive oil over them and sprinkled on some paprika powder. Ofcourse being the paprika nut that I am I had to use two types – hot Hungarian and bitter sweet smoked Spanish. But feel free to use whatever you have…ideally a smoky version. Add a little flaked salt.  I tossed the almonds around to make sure they were all coated with the oil and water and then spread them out on an oven tray. I roasted them for about 15 minutes, testing after ten minutes to see how ‘roasted’ the flavour was. I did it on a low heat and for a longer time as I wanted the paprika to cook without the almonds getting too burnt or too roasted. The end result was a lightly roasted almond, crunchy and lovely smoked paprika flavour. I had something similar in a fancy Spanish tapas restaurant and cost of a tiny bowl of them cost me about the same as what it cost to make a whole kilo of the almonds. The restaurant version was a bit oilier – but I prefer it less oily like this. And it stores better this way too. A little too easy to eat too many…but at least they are healthier than some deep fried thingy that is also yummy to have with a cold beer…right?!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 11:49 AM

    Mmm, so easy and so yummy! Healthy too 🙂

  2. April 15, 2010 12:48 PM

    Yum. I love playing around with almonds. Can ask why you soak them first? I used to make almonds with kecap manis, slowly roasting them as well. Might be time to re-visit.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 15, 2010 2:47 PM

      I soaked the almonds because I wanted to slow down the roasting process – to allow time for the paprika to cook and so that they would not get burnt or too strongly roasted (I don’t like them to hard and with a dominant roasted flavour). The water also helped (as did the oil) to coat the individual almonds with the paprika.
      Your kejap manis version sounds great too…I must try that next time.

  3. April 15, 2010 9:38 PM

    MMMMMMM,…your paprika almonds look so tasty & special too!

  4. April 16, 2010 5:56 AM

    These look delicious, SG!

Leave a Reply

