Skip to content

Pantry update

May 20, 2010

I am feeling disheartened by my paltry progress in the pantry clean out challenge. I just stuck my head in there and although there is now a bit of “air” space, there is still no shelf space evident. And I have to admit that half of the space that has emerged has come from chucking out some expiry dated stuff. There are about ten boxes of pasta in there. What was I thinking?!! At our current rate if progress I think it would take another two or three months before I see the level of impact I am aiming for. I have run out of sugar and couveture chocolate so it is starting to bite now. Perhaps that is the real reason for the despondency?! Sigh!

Sam is out of weetbix but there are plenty of oats so he will survive. Tinned tomatoes are gone, as are tinned cannellini and kidney beans. But I have lots of dried beans so that is ok too. I am going to have to feed the kids lots of pasta and tinned tuna (poor kids). The dog and chooks might have to help too. And perhaps I should ban myself from buying any fresh stuff as well just to really force more consumption of pantry items. Sigh!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 5:15 PM

    How about…you write down lists of things that you currently have, and don’t buy any more of them until current stocks are depleted? Then other categories, which have run out can be replenished? It’s very hard to substitute dried beans for chocolate and sugar, makes for a crappy cake.. 😉 If I had to feed mine on pasta and tinned tuna I’d have a revolt on my hands! 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      May 21, 2010 3:56 PM

      Great suggestion…but I fear that it requires a brain more organised and efficient than mine. If I had such a brain I probably would not have ended up with quite the pantry predicament that I have now! I do aspire to be more restrained, organised, etc, etc. Sigh. Perhaps one of these years I might just surprise myself! 🙂

  2. May 20, 2010 5:16 PM

    ie. don’t buy any more spice mixes or pasta, but do buy tinned tomatoes and chocolate and weetbix. And chuck out anything you really won’t eat, or donate it to the nearest soup kitchen!

  3. May 20, 2010 5:26 PM

    …..and you could beta test one of those recipe finder programmes like this one http://www.whatcouldicook.com/ and see if there was any inspiration there. I think Celia is right, you don’t want to end up resenting the tuna! 🙂

    Maybe there is a secondary use for pasta, art projects, diy repair projects etc or someone else who could use it up for you.

    Though I have eaten many cakes made with sweet bean paste when I have been out for dim sum, I wouldn’t know how to transform dried beans that way. I have bags of tapioca flour, bought when I needed exactly 50 grams for some recipe or other and more rye grain than I can use in a year. Though I did use up the hazelnuts the other day in a bread (thinking of you, you see!). Good Luck, keep us updated as to where the stores end up, won’t you?

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      May 21, 2010 3:54 PM

      Good suggestions – thanks!

  4. May 28, 2010 7:58 PM

    Chin up! Can you perhaps look up some recipes that have beans or pulses or other things that you have and want to get rid of in an effort to use those up with fresh stuff? I always think we need some fresh stuff with our meals 🙂

Leave a Reply

