Skip to content

Cheer up chocolate cake

May 31, 2010

I was so excited to “discover” two bars of Green and Black’s organic chocolate, a kilo of organic plain flour….and…wait for it…a whole kilo of caster sugar! Yes, my friends these are all things I had run out of a couple of weeks ago in the pantry clean out month. Finding them was (pathetically) exciting. I had to abandon the task of cleaning out the box of stuff these items were hiding in, just so I could go and make something wicked to eat and cheer me up. And yes, I did also find four more packets of pasta in that box….aaarrrggghh!! No tuna though – phew!

A summary of pantry clean out month is coming soon. Today I have officially lasted a month without buying anything for the pantry. I am heading off to New Zealand for work for the rest of the week so I guess I might just make it to one month and one week. Assuming that I manage to remember those four remaining jars of Manuka honey still in the pantry and resist buying any more! NZ chocolate though is in a different category altogether….

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 3:41 AM

    Chocolate cake smiles all round then 🙂 That looks scrum delish!

    Maybe when you return to pantry shopping you will buy different things after this experience. I find the elderly dried beans the hardest to deal with, can’t even throw them out for the birds…. What category is NZ chocolate in?

  2. June 1, 2010 10:00 AM

    Cheer up, the month is over! 🙂

  3. June 2, 2010 8:18 AM

    You have done well. To end it with a chocolate cake I would say you have done really well!
    Have fun in NewZealand…. Mmmmm, Whittakers Chocolate- so many more flavours then here. I have Whittakers buying envy.

  4. May 15, 2013 3:45 AM

    vary t

Leave a Reply

