Skip to content

I wish I could eat toast

June 3, 2010

This morning I was thinking that life would be simpler if I could eat something basic like supermarket bread toast. Yesterday after a day of airport and plane food, followed by meeting food, I thought I would skip room service offerings and get some take away for dinner. I settled on a middle eastern restaurant around the corner from my hotel in Auckland. A pretty expensive, and pretty crappy meal. Luckily I had bought two packets of kettle chips and a block of chocolate on my way back to the hotel. The oil tasted funny in the chips but at least they were relatively edible. This morning I asked the hotel with some desperation if I could just have some bacon and eggs. Can’t go wrong with that I thought, and hopefully the greasy protein would keep me full all day and save me from meeting food. The eggs only came scrambled (with cream I realized half way through eating them) and the bacon was way too fatty. Oh for the ability to eat something easily available like supermarket bread toast! After two 4am start days filled with full on meetings I was not a happy camper by this stage. I just knew eating meeting food was going to make me too sick to run my seminar tonight. So I stuck mainly to fruit. And having survived the day and the seminar I have decided to treat myself to some decent food tonight. I looked up an Auckland food blog – where else do you go for good local recommendations?! Found Dine by Peter Gordon close to my hotel. Hooray for edible food at last! More than edible. I had a Hapuka dish – fish with some fabulous kumera, bok choy and mushrooms with an Asian flavoured coconut saucy thing. Yum. Now I am going to tackle a “warm Valhrona chocolate and caramel centered fondant with Earl grey marscapone, blood orange purée, citrus salsa and orange marmalade ice cream” dessert. I think I can handle it!
Update – that choclate fondants needs to be in the hall of fame of chocolate desserts! Can you see the oozy caramel in the last photo? Perfect caramel – not too sweet, slightly bitter…just the way I like it!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 5, 2010 11:44 PM

    Hey A, great that God of Blogs looked after you…the chocolate fondant looks like the twin of something just had at Mumbai. I can’t stand super market or mass market bread. I love fresh rolls. Baguettes. Croissants. Fresh baked chocolate cookies flown in from Sydney 🙂 have a good trip

  2. June 6, 2010 6:58 AM

    Yum! That looks delicious – how fab that you got to eat at Peter Gordon’s restaurant! See you soon… 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      June 6, 2010 11:50 AM

      um…Peter Gordon is a famous chef? He did have a few cookbooks for sale at his restaurant. I flicked through one but managed to resist. I wanted to ask if that chocolate fondant recipe was in another of the books as I would have definitely bought it!

Leave a Reply

