Skip to content

Work at home cake

June 9, 2010


I have been toying with the idea of working from home for a couple of months now. I say “toying” because I know myself well enough to understand the dangers of working from home. Right now the office is close to home, but a defined space where I can work yet be close enough to home and the kids’ school to be able to squeeze in some time to do reading at the school, etc. The best of both worlds. If I work at home there will be two main dangers – the temptation to stay in my pyjamas all day and read books; and/or the temptation to cook and eat wicked things all day. Then of course is the downside that separating work from life will be harder if work invades my home. On the good side, we will save some money in office rent, the dog will have company at home and I could (potentially) be less stressed. At least I think I would be less stressed, but perhaps that is just some foundation-less mental image I have of “working from home”.

So today I did a trial run of working at home. Not a proper trial because things are not set up such as computers, phones, etc. But I brought my two laptops home and tried working here for the afternoon. About ten minutes after getting home I started to really, really want to eat something warm, baked and sweet (preferably with chocolate). I could not shake the thought so ended up giving in and making this super quick made up cake – which I have to say is pretty damn good. So good I have eaten nearly half of it. Ooops. And I have kneaded up a batch of bread in that time too (normally this would happen late at night after work). Hmmm…I haven’t made it to the TV or the book….but the thought has crossed my mind. The home phone has run incessantly breaking my train of thought frequently and giving me another excuse to get up and be distracted by other things. I did have two repair men come along who did take the opportunity to chat even though I was clearly trying to work. Good thing the cake wasn’t ready or I would have had to share!

So I am not sure what to conclude out of today’s experiment. The only thing I can confidently say is that this is a lovely cake and you should try making it!

Work at home cake (aka walnut chocolate cake)

1 cup walnuts
1/2 cup self raising flour
1/2 cup caster sugar
2 eggs
110gm butter (melted)
1 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup dark chocolate callets/or roughly chopped pieces

Heat your oven to 160C fan forced.

Pop the walnuts in a food processor and process for a minute or two (you don’t want it too fine as yet). Add in the caster sugar and flour and give it another thirty seconds or so processing. Add in the eggs and melted butter and mix until combined. Stir through the chocolate. Spoon out into a lined baking dish (I used a round one) and smooth out with a spatula. Bake for 25 minutes.

The cake is lovely and light and the combination of walnuts and dark chocolate is mighty fine. Try not to eat the whole thing in one sitting…..

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 5:38 AM

    Brilliant cake! Maybe a little too easy to make and eat.. 😉

  2. June 10, 2010 8:55 AM

    Great looking cake. I think every one needs a work at home cake 🙂
    I have known a few people that worked from home. Some have hated it and missed the opportunities to meet up with others in the work place and others loved it and wouldn’t have it any other way. I always liked the idea of walking to work to start the day, ie. walking around the block, then coming straight back in the front door.

  3. June 16, 2010 6:27 PM

    Ahh yes working from home definitely provides plenty of distractions! However delicious distractions like this are good no? 😉

  4. Sarah - For the Love of Food permalink
    July 2, 2010 11:17 PM

    I mix up working from home with working at the office. I do find that I should plan to only do about half a days real work from home though and then have to make up the time over a couple of evenings a week – for exactly the same reasons! This lovely looking cake is evidence of a very productive day 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      July 10, 2010 9:15 AM

      Hmmm…that sounds a little scary (but realistic) to plan on only half a day’s work and then a catch up on weekends or evenings. I am sure I will end up doing the same!

Leave a Reply

