Skip to content

Windy Wellington

June 20, 2010

I have arrived in Wellington New Zealand to find that it does live up to it’s reputation of being a cold, windy city – when it’s bad it’s really bad but when it’s good….let’s hope I get to find out!
Although it is a drizzly day I appear to be the only person with an umbrella. It reminds me of Glasgow where the locals stoically ignored the constant drizzle. When I first saw this behaviour in Cairns and north Queensland I understood it. Over there if you get wet in a small shower it is no problem as you dry off within a few minutes and actually appreciate the cooling effect of that evaporation. Buy here in the cold and wind I don’t get it. Mind you, they are all rugged up in serious outdoor wind proof, water proof jackets, scarves and boots. My big wool jacket is not quite up to the task. I wandered into some of those outdoor clothes shops, looked longingly at those best-of-man-made-fibres that I would normally not even look at. Fortunately sense prevailed and I did not purchase an expensive jacket I am sure to never use again.

I did the next best thing instead. I found a charming French cafe and patisserie called Simply Paris on Cuba Street. The staff speak to me in authentic sounding French accents and there is some lovely French music playing. I am starting to feel quite cosmopolitan just from sitting ‘ere! Warm, fragrant aromas and a bowl of really delicious pea soup has certainly chased away the chills. I also have my eye on a wicked looking chocolate eclair to take back to my hotel room for a late night snack. But first I must brave that weather again and continue to explore this city

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 3:05 PM

    I’d heard that about Wellington! Stay warm…

  2. June 25, 2010 11:20 PM

    Oh yes it’s certainly windy there! Cuba Stret is definitely the aorta of Wellington. So many great places to eat!

Leave a Reply

