Skip to content

Comfort food

June 21, 2010

A gorgeous sunny start to the day lulled me into a false sense of warmth. I wore a long sleeve shirt, thin merino jumper and a wool suit….and leather ballet flats without stockings. Hah said Wellington. Five minutes after entering my clients office it turned grey and cold and started to rain. I decided to walk back to my hotel in the evening despite the weather and lack of big coat, scarf, gloves or anything sensible on my feet. “I am sure to warm up” I thought. Hah said Wellington again.

I felt like I had strapped two blocks of ice to my feet. In fact, even now two hours later, safely tucked into socks and boots, I am not too sure my toes are still attached. I wriggle them every few minutes just to check.

I am sitting in another restaurant in Cuba Street – Scopa. And I have ordered the house made gnocchi. “No carbs at night” be dammed I say! Weather like this demands serious comfort food…or stodge. I guess my lunch of chocolate brownie (the salad was binned) makes me feel like this is a healthy choice. I did say no to the buckwheat pasta since it was smothered in marscapone. So virtuous. Almost good enough to deserve dessert again tonight don’t you think?!

The gnocchi is amazingly good. So impossibly light it is almost like eating a meringue – a soft little pillow of potato. Way, way better than the gnocchi I make and certainly the best I have ever eaten. I am going to have to try and replicate this when I get home. But where to start….?! Here it is served with a very tasty pork sausage crumbled into a tomato based sauce with peas and fresh mozarella.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 9:24 AM

    I hope you went out today and bought knee-high socks! 🙂

  2. June 23, 2010 1:46 PM

    I don’t think the ‘no carbs at night’, stands when you are away from home. Gnocchi looked like it was damn fine carby option to be had too!

Leave a Reply

