Skip to content

A chocolate brownie obsession

July 12, 2010

There is something about Celia’s blog that rather too often compels me to rush home from work and cook whatever it is she has posted on….and more often than not it involves chocolate. Lots of chocolate. She posted this recipe for chocolate brownies a couple of weeks ago and sure enough I made a batch that night. And ate most of it over the next 24 hours. Ofcourse I could not help myself and I tinkered with her recipe, making it gluten free and reducing the sugar by a third. I used LSA (linseed, sunflower and almond mix) instead of flour, and walnuts. Yum! The second day I made another batch – this time with half LSA and half buckwheat flour. No more walnuts left so I used pistachios and almonds. Not so succesful. Only ate half the tray of them. Two days later I made my third batch. This time I decided to follow the recipe more faithfully and used flour and increased the sugar by a tiny bit to 110g (I could not bring myself to go the whole 150g of the original recipe). I found this batch too sweet…and strangely too oily as well. It could have been something I did…I don’t want to put you off the original recipe as it looks sensational. Not sure that I could go the double chocolate hit in the original recipe as Celia does…but I am sure Tara could (as she hinted to me that she loves brownies that have chocolate chips in them…not knowing that the original recipe had just that). My favourite version is definitely the first LSA version. Worthy of a reprint of the recipe I think.

Gluten Free Chocolate Brownies

90g butter (I think I will drop this a bit next time to say 70g)
225g chocolate (I used 54% Callebaut)
90g sugar (the original recipe calls for 150g)
50g LSA (or 40g plain flour as per the original)
vanilla extract
2 eggs
200g walnuts lightly toasted in the oven and then roughly chopped

Melt the butter in a saucepan and remove from the heat. Add the chocolate and allow it to melt into the butter. Add the sugar and give it a minute or two to melt as well. Now add in the remaining ingredients (apart from the walnuts) and stir vigorously for a few minutes. Fold in the nuts. Pour into a lined baking dish (about 20cm square) and bake in an oven preheated to 160C fan forced. Bake for 20 minutes. Allow to cool (if you can wait that long) and then cut. It will be very crumbly while warm, but get quite firm and chewy the next day…if there is any left!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 13, 2010 2:06 AM

    Celia’s chocolate brownies went down a storm with us too. I keep being asked for more šŸ™‚

  2. July 13, 2010 6:09 AM

    Thanks for trying them out, SG! Understand completely about the oily batch – I think it’s because you dropped the sugar amount. That’s exactly what happens when I use 70% cocoa chocolate – strange oily mass that cooks hard. The quantities in the original recipe are pretty precise, as I alluded to in my blog. So clever you for tinkering with them in the LSA version and making it work so well – they look delicious!

  3. Sarah - For the Love of Food permalink
    July 13, 2010 9:49 AM

    Great to know I can make these gluten free for friends. It must be brownies day – Laws of the Kitchen (http://kitchenlaw.blogspot.com/2010/07/twd-brrrr-ownies.html) just posted on brownies too – you might want to take a look šŸ™‚

  4. July 14, 2010 6:53 AM

    oh dude ive had the biggest brownie craving all week i think youve just pushed me over the edge with these babies!

  5. July 15, 2010 9:41 PM

    Oh, my, these look delicous! I need to make some brownies again soon…and put nuts in them this time – so the kids don’t eat them all up before I manage to get a piece! I like the sound of the LSA šŸ™‚

  6. August 3, 2010 8:01 PM

    I love the idea of using LSA, now it’s obviously so healthy! Just think of all those good oils and fibre!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      August 11, 2010 3:08 PM

      Yes I was surprised at how well the LSA worked. I plan to use it more often in my baking.

  7. August 12, 2010 11:40 AM

    I too have a chocolate brownie obsession and yours looked superb!

Leave a Reply

