Skip to content

Almond Florentines

August 18, 2010

I had to take some sweets to have with coffee after a big lunch party. Decided that it was a good time to try out the recipe for florentines that Celia posted on her blog. They were a huge success and my kids have been begging for me to make more. I coated the bottom of half of them in dark chocolate and the other half in white. I made them in my mini muffin tray to get them all looking even and pretty. They were crispy and crunchy and not too sweet, despite me increasing the amount of sugar for the second half as I wanted more of the toffee effect. Most unusual for me to increase sugar in a recipe! I added currants as I didn’t have quite enough almonds. The currants were fab – little burst of intense flavour and a bit of chewiness. I would definitely add them again.

Almond Florentines
(this recipe started life before modifications from the Ottolenghi cook book)

2 cups flaked almonds
1/2 cup currants
1 cup icing sugar
2 egg whites lightly beaten

Mix all ingredients gently together in a bowl. Spoon into a well greased mini muffin tray in a fairly thin layer. Press down. Bake in an oven preheated to 170C for10-15 minutes. Allow to cool in the pan before removing. If they are not crispy enough, lay them upsiade down on a tray and bake for a few more minutes. When cool coat the underside in some melted chocolate. Store in an airtight container.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2010 7:05 PM

    Goodness, what a spread! Great idea to make them in muffin tins, although I can’t believe you increasing the sugar in anything! 🙂 Yours are more florentiney than mine, must try them with currants as well. Are they your LSA brownies in the background?

  2. August 18, 2010 9:08 PM

    I love the uniformity from the muffin tins. I will have to try these.

  3. August 19, 2010 5:59 PM

    They look incredibly tempting – I want to put my hand through the screen Willie Wonka style and just nab a couple 🙂

  4. Sarah - For the Love of Food permalink
    August 20, 2010 8:57 PM

    What lucky people who got to eat that gorgeous platter full of goodies. These florentines sound and look delicious. I like the white and dark options.

  5. August 22, 2010 1:06 PM

    oh how gorgeous does that look! What a lovely spread of goodness for your work mates. Were they impressed?

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      August 25, 2010 4:11 PM

      They were very impressed actually. One guy kept eating the brownies while saying “I never eat chocolate but these are so good…” and ofcourse everyone convinced themselves that the florentines were so good for them (healthy) that they may as well eat a few more!

  6. August 23, 2010 4:06 AM

    You just inspired me to make some floretnies! I’ve got a box of sliced almonds, I’m going to use it for this and a cake made in a cast iron skillet I’ve been dying to try.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      August 25, 2010 4:08 PM

      They are rather dangerously nice Shaheen. I hope you enjoy them!

  7. September 5, 2010 6:27 PM

    Yum, Yum, Yum! Thanks for the Florentine recipe, my daughter and I made a batch of these for Fathers Day gifts and they are DELICIOUS! We used glace cherries because we didn’t have any currants in the pantry! Thanks again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

