Skip to content

Spelt

September 27, 2010

I have really been enjoying baking with spelt flour ever since Celia put me on to it. The kids and Andrew really like it as well which has surprised me as it has a bit of a “wholemeal” feel to it. Andrew is a bit of a fan of white bread, so his preference for the 50% spelt/50% wheat bread I have been making lately is quite surprising. The bread rises beautifully and does not seem hard to work with at all. I haven’t tried a 100% spelt loaf as yet…perhaps soon. And hot cross buns (without the cross) have made a big return much to Sam’s joy. Every batch of baking includes a tray of buns. If there are any left before the next batch is baked, the dog and the chooks get to share the love too!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2010 1:22 PM

    Wow! Look at the amazing slash on the top of that loaf! Glad you’re loving the spelt as much as we are…lucky we bought it all…hahahaha

  2. September 27, 2010 8:58 PM

    Spelt is just one more thing that I am InTolerant to. Your loaves sure look good though.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 4, 2010 12:17 AM

      Yeah me too…but greed always wins out for me. I thought I would perhaps (hopefully) have less of a reaction to spelt compared to wheat, but sadly the opposite is true. Not sure why but it seems that the spelt is causing more of a reaction at the moment. You are very good to be so strong and stay away from the stuff you are supposed to avoid…send me some of that strength!

  3. September 27, 2010 10:55 PM

    The 50/50 split seems like a good way to get used to using spelt. Beautiful work! Have you tried einkorn? It’s the oldest form of ancient wheat. I just wonder how it compares with spelt.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 4, 2010 12:14 AM

      I haven’t heard of Einkorn…must look out for it…thanks for the tip!

  4. September 28, 2010 2:48 AM

    I think you get different spelt from us, you and Celia have such beautiful bread from it! I am never that good with it, sadly. That slash is a beaut, looks French somehow, don’t know why I think that, but it does.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 4, 2010 12:15 AM

      Yes I think there is something magic about this batch of spelt that Celia and I are using. Don’t feel bad, I am sure when this lot runs out we will be tearing our hair out trying to recreate these lovely loaves!

Leave a Reply

