Skip to content

Guess who I am

October 17, 2010

Here is my flower, and my fruit. I grow on a large, tall tree. My leaves and fruit are supposed to have medicinal qualities, and I am apparently a bit of a sacred tree in some countries like India (news to me I have to say as I have never encountered it in India). A prize for guessing it correctly. Perhaps some Daintree tea? 🙂

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 4:40 PM

    Is it a nutmeg plant?

  2. October 17, 2010 4:46 PM

    mangosteen?

  3. October 18, 2010 2:12 AM

    hibiscus?

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 21, 2010 9:54 AM

      Sorry not hibiscus either!

  4. October 18, 2010 10:04 AM

    Tamarind? What beautiful flowers 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 21, 2010 9:57 AM

      Sorry not tamarind. The flowers are really gorgeous…and on such an ugly looking tree and fruit too!

      Ok another hint – the fruit are huge, about the size of a bowling ball. I dint think they are eaten either from the sound of it. And that my friends is another clue – the ‘sound’ of it.

  5. Sig permalink
    October 18, 2010 1:50 PM

    Is it annatto aka lipstick tree?

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 21, 2010 9:49 AM

      Good guess Sig, but not correct. I would love to see one of those lipstick trees!

  6. October 21, 2010 5:53 PM

    Hey gorgeous. It’s a cannon ball tree. 🙂

    • October 22, 2010 11:38 AM

      Yay Celia you got it right! It is a cannonball fruit – so called because of the sound it makes when the fruit crashes to the ground and splits open. Hairy seed things inside. Leaves and seeds used for various medicinal purposes. Quite interesting to read about it on wikipedia.
      Some lovely Daintree tea coming to you when I next see you!

Leave a Reply

