Skip to content

Turmeric Rice

October 24, 2010

I love fresh turmeric but don’t always know what to do with it. Most Indian cooking seems to use dried turmeric powder (I do wonder why). I make my mother’s recipe of a pot roast chicken that uses lots of fresh turmeric – one of Andrew’s favourites. And a chicken soup, some thai curry pastes….but other than that I tend to run out of inspiration. I always buy it when I see it in Sydney. And ofcourse I could not resist buying a big bag of it at the Mossman markets the other day since it looked so fresh and lovely.

I made this rice dish the other night after we set up our camp in semi darkness. We needed a quick and simple meal and this was just the ticket for that. I will make it again at home as I really loved the way the fresh turmeric flavour came through in the rice (quite different from the dry turmeric powder flavour I think). The yellow chunks you can see in the picture are pumpkin, not turmeric! I grated my ingredients because of the limited kitchen equipment I have here. At home I would smash it all up with a mortar and pestle.

Turmeric Rice

Approx 1 cup of rice (I used Doongara “smart rice”)
1 tablespoon grated fresh turmeric
1 teasoon grated garlic
1 cup diced raw pumpkin
1/2 cup diced roast beef (optional if you want to keep it vego, replace with peas or some quick cooking lentil)
1 teaspoon stock powder
1 teaspoon curry powder (I had a mix of powdered spices that I made to bring camping, but probably any type of “curry powder” would work ok here)
1/2 teaspoon salt
a few sprigs of chopped fresh corriander
olive oil

Heat a little olive oil in the pan. Fry the turmeric, curry powder and garlic for a couple of minutes. Add the rice and stir for a minute or two. Add the pumpkin (and lentils if you are using them), stock powder, salt and sufficient warm water for the rice to cook. When it is nearly cooked, add in the roast beef and corriander. Cover and leave to finish cooking.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2010 2:37 PM

    Sounds like a tastier version of the old comfort food ‘rice a riso’ !

  2. Sarah - For the Love of Food permalink
    October 24, 2010 3:05 PM

    I think I’ve only used fresh turmeric once – as you said it’s not that common to come across recipes that call for it in favour of ground. It sounds like you use it a bit like ginger in this recipe? I know this is a cheek but have you considered posting on your Mum’s pot roasted chicken with turmeric – it sounds like a dish I’d love to try.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      October 25, 2010 12:59 PM

      Not cheeky at all – I will definitely post the recipe on this soon. Might even try to make it while we are camping….I do still have lots of fresh turmeric!

  3. October 25, 2010 10:49 AM

    You’re a star – you cooked this over a camp stove in the dark? I’d be happy if someone served it up to me in a restaurant! 🙂

Leave a Reply

