Skip to content

Tropical Pork Spare Ribs

November 4, 2010

These were the best pork spare ribs – I will be making them again when I get home for sure. I had a superb pineapple the day I made it and as a bit of a last minute thought I threw a little chopped pineapple into the marinade. It added a really lovely tropical flavour. An echo of a sweet and sour pork almost  – a very, very reconstructed version of it of course! And the fresh turmeric (yes, I am putting it into everything at the moment) also added to that ‘tropical’ flavour. And the smokiness from being cooked over the camp fire certainly added to that flavour mix. Yum yum!

Tropical Pork Spare Ribs

8 slices of spare ribs (or other cut of pork
1 tablespoon grated ginger
1 tablespoon grated fresh turmeric
2 grated garlic cloves
1/2 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup lime juice
1/4 cup roughly chopped fresh pineapple
1 teaspoon honey
1 hot red chilli sliced into large pieces (so you don’t accidentally eat a piece!)

Mix all the ingredients together and leave to marinate for a few hours or overnight if possible. Grill over hot coals or on a barbeque until cooked. I cooked these slowly (positioned the rack well above the coals so they could cook slowly without burning and release some of the fat in this rather fatty cut of pork.

(Update: these were so good I made them again. I had them perfectly cooked and we were all looking forward to eating them with some perfectly fire roasted sweet potato and potatoes. Since Andrew had not yet come over to the camp fire to eat dinner I thought I would just leave them on there for another few minutes so they would not get cold. Turned my back for just a minute and…woosh… they went up in flames. Totally charred lumps of charcoal! Seriously disappointing.)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2010 1:40 PM

    Oh how sad! What a pity. All the flavours sound so nice together and the pineapple would be great in it too. I hope you found something nice instead.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 6, 2010 7:48 PM

      The downside of cooking over a campfire! It was fine. The sweet potato was so lovely that I could have just eaten that. Luckily I had taken out these german sausages for the kids to roast on sticks as a bit if an entree…so there was plenty of food. Tara and I had experimented and made a rather nice chocolate cake in the camp oven so we had dessert to look forward to as well.

  2. November 5, 2010 5:02 AM

    Jinx! I just posted about pork ribs as well! Your marinade looks for more exotic than mine does though.. 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 6, 2010 7:43 PM

      Snap! Yours look might fine too!

  3. November 5, 2010 5:17 PM

    That’s two lots of fabulous ribs I have read about! I can get a lovely whiff of summer from here.( She says from grey drizzly Blighty.)

    You all know how to have a good time in the summer! I wonder if the pineapple tenderizes the meat, it’s one of those fruits with enzymes in isn’t it? Like papaya…

    • November 8, 2010 8:09 AM

      I had the same thought in mind when I added the pineapple – that it might tenderise the meat. But I think my pineapple was so incredibly sweet and ripe that it didn’t seem to have that effect. Perhaps it needs to be slightly sour to get that enzyme effect(?)

  4. November 7, 2010 11:37 AM

    Oh yum! I’ve never done ribs before, but with both yours and Celia’s it might be time to rib it.

  5. Sarah - For the Love of Food permalink
    November 7, 2010 8:10 PM

    I’m feeling rather tempted to cook some ribs myself after reading this one and Celia’s. They look delish and I’m very impressed by you tackling this while camping!

  6. December 24, 2010 11:51 AM

    These look delicious! I have never thought to put pineapple with ribs! I’m moving to the southern states of America in January so I should practice some rib cooking before I go! Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

