Skip to content

Rusty’s market – Cairns

November 6, 2010

I love wandering around food markets when I am travelling. I walk around checking out the fresh produce and wish I could buy and cook some of it. Staying in a hotel makes that fairly impossible.

I was hoping to find lots of tropical fruit in Cairns – rambutans, lychees, etc, but we are there too early in the season. There are heaps of mangoes, all from Darwin, and I “test” lots of samples.

These are some of the more unusual offerings. I would love to know what ferns or sweet potato leaves taste like! Banana flowers I have had in Thai salads. I had a refreshing young coconut served up by this woman who expertly wielded a very sharp knife. Can you guess what the last two photos are of?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 2:04 PM

    Um…fresh coconut and black sapote? 😉

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 6, 2010 4:15 PM

      The small green things are black sapote but the orange one is not coconut.

    • November 8, 2010 8:03 AM

      Sorry Celia – the dangers of posting from my phone. I thought I had cropped the photo to hide the name ‘black sapote” but it published the full photo. Duh! And it didnt publish the other photo either!

  2. November 7, 2010 4:35 PM

    Am I missing a photo?

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 7, 2010 7:28 PM

      Thanks for alerting me. I did this post on my phone and it says it uploaded all six photos but is only displaying 3. Very annoying. Apologies for this.

  3. November 11, 2010 12:46 AM

    I’ve never had banana flowers, but I’d love to try them. I’d love to visit a market like this too!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 11, 2010 10:49 AM

      I have only had them in this amazing Thai salad which has lots of crunchy things in it and is topped with chicken that is poached in coconut milk. A sweet-sour sort of dressing and fairly finely chopped banana flower. We have just picked a bunch of bananas from our tree this week and I am going to be brave and try and make that salad myself. If it works, I will post the recipe on the blog.

  4. November 11, 2010 11:43 AM

    It almost looks like a cocoa bean, what is it?

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      November 13, 2010 3:52 PM

      You got it!! Well done. I was surprised to see what they look like as well. Who would have thought such deliciousness could come out of something that looks like that eh?! 🙂

  5. Yin permalink
    December 1, 2010 9:22 PM

    Sweet potato leaves taste like baby spinach (in my opinion). Haven’t had it raw though… usually cook it till its wilted slightly. Its really yummy! We grow it in our front yard (in Melbourne) from normal sweet potatoes (duuh) where theres plenty of sun, and have it almost every other day in summer. they die in winter though.

Leave a Reply

