Skip to content

Reinventing the Black Forest Cake

December 1, 2010

Eating some new season cherries made me think of Black Forest cake. I haven’t had many good versions of this infamous cake. A German pastry chef friend used to make a superb version of this cake…but the last time I visited his cafe I was disappointed in the version I was served. Perhaps he has stopped making it for his cafe. Most versions of the BFC are pretty disappointing though, don’t you think? The cake is usually dry and tasteless; no real sour cherry flavour; too much cream; and worse…fake cream! I almost never order this cake so it was a bit strange that I felt compelled to make one on the weekend. More strange that I wanted to mess around with it and come up with a ‘modern’ version of it…and take my experiment to a dinner party.

Here is what I made: two of my chocolate-coffee-cardamom cake (about 1.5 times the quantities I posted in recipe on the blog about a year ago). This time I paid attention to whipping butter and eggs etc so the cakes were really light and moist.Β  I pitted and soaked fresh cherries in a mixture of Kirch and Cointreau. Folded a little cream and Cointreau through some marscapone. I then poured the excess alcohol from the cherries over the bottom cake. Sandwiched the two cakes with the marscapone and cherries. And coated the lot in some fairly firm setting chocolate ganache (mixed with a little more Cointreau!). The end result? Pretty interesting and delicious. Very popular as it looked absolutely stunning. I wish I had a photo of a slice of the cake to show you. The contrast between the really dark chocolate cake, the really white marscapone and the deep red cherries was pretty gorgeous. The downside of beingΒ  a secret blogger is that it was not possible to take a photo of a slice of the cake I brought to the party without providing any explanations. I did manage to take this photo (above) on my phone, in the car on the way there.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 11:28 AM

    mmm cointreau πŸ˜€ looks like a delish cake!

  2. December 2, 2010 7:06 AM

    I love the mix of chocolate and cardamon. Yumm..

  3. December 2, 2010 6:36 PM

    Oh I would have loved to have seen inside this little beauty! Like you I love black forest cake but almost never eat it as a bad one isn’t worth the trouble. Sbs’s food safari (can’t remember which season) had a recipe for one, it had about 50 different ingredients and looked incredibly daunting.
    Anything with cardamom, alcohol soaked cherries and mascarpone has my vote…Maybe you could make another and take a picture of the inside πŸ™‚

  4. December 3, 2010 10:27 AM

    Sounds great. The cake of a thousand 70s teaparties! I lived somewhere called Thames Ditton when I was a kid. TD’s claim to fame, were 11 pubs in a very small village, an umbrella repair shop and Walter’s Viennese patisserie. The Black Forest Cherry cake and the Sachertorte were his specials! And reading your description makes me think of his cake… have you got a link to the post you mention? If you put it in this one then I can just go clickety click πŸ™‚

  5. December 5, 2010 2:04 PM

    This cake is popular at an amusement park in Virginia. As a young kid, I didn’t notice all the artificial ingredients. Now, I would notice it. It’s fun to reinterpret classic food recipes with the real ingredients.

  6. Sarah - For the Love of Food permalink
    December 5, 2010 11:00 PM

    It really does look stunning – even in the box in the car (why the secrecy Spice?). I’ve just awarded you the One Lovely Blog award – no doubt to add to others πŸ™‚ Check out my latest post to see the ‘conditions’.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      December 9, 2010 10:11 PM

      Ah the secrecy is because I also have a work life – my business does rather rely on my reputation so I try and keep personal and work stuff separate. I could not blog about feeling totally annoyed with work and clients and deciding to spend the day making chocolate cake instead of working if there was a chance that my clients would stumble upon it now could I?! πŸ™‚ And things in cyberspace hang around for a long, long time.
      Thank you for the award and the kind words. Very sweet of you and I am honoured!

  7. December 6, 2010 1:48 PM

    Oh My…. I love the sound of this BFC…, and I’m right there with you on the way (unfortunately) this gorgeous stunner has been abused and its rep has fallen into disarray. No more though.., I can imagine this recipe, I’m itching to give it a go (& that’s saying something as I almost never bake)…
    Thanks for sharing…, I look forward to reading more & connecting through the blogosphere πŸ™‚
    Cheers Anna

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      December 9, 2010 10:07 PM

      Yes the BFC does have a certain ‘reputation’ doesn’t it?!
      And likewise Anna – I am enjoying getting to know your blog and reading through some of your old posts. Nice to meet in this virtual world of food blogs!

  8. December 9, 2010 5:13 PM

    This cake sounds amazing, your lucky, lucky friends. Sarah was right, it is well worth checking out your blog. Lucy

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      December 9, 2010 10:06 PM

      Thanks Lucy. I just checked out your blog too – I love it! A blog dedicated to duck…yum!

Leave a Reply

