Skip to content

More lovelies for my garden

January 13, 2011

At the Hornsby organic markets today I could not resist buying some more plants for my garden. What really caught my eye today were these tall chilli plants bursting with chillies. A few different varieties there so of course I had to buy two. When I was taking them out of the car this lovely S-shaped chilli fell off – is it meant for me or what?! 🙂 Supposed to be a Turkish variety (no name) – moderately hot and with a nice flavour. I will let you know. Can’t bring myself to eat the chilli that I have now made my gravatar…yet. I also bought some more thyme (never can have enough of my favourite herb), two pots of rosemary (a close second in the favourite stakes), tarragon, sweet basil and some more lavender. Tara and I love to pick a lavender flower on our walk up to school in the mornings. She puts it in her hair and takes it out during the day for a little sniff. How sweet is that? It stays in her hair when she goes to sleep, and when I go up to bed and kiss the sleeping cherub goodnight she smells of lovely lavender.

The guy at the markets always has great plants, and they are really cheap too. Those chilli plants were just $7 each. They seem to survive my neglectful gardening so they must be good….although I am sure they are not organic – he makes no claim that they are. I haven’t seen the woman who sells organic seedlings of unusual varieties of vegetables and herbs for quite a while. You can pick and choose different seedlings to fill your punnets – a concept that I love. Everything I bought from her a few months ago grew prolifically. I hope she comes back soon. With Sam’s new school being rather close to Hornsby I can see that I will be going to those markets more often (it is on every Thursday). It is a tiny market, just a few stalls in the courtyard between the two shopping centre buildings. Nice and friendly, nothing pretentious.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 6:43 AM

    I love the idea of ‘pick and mix’ punnets. That way you wouldn’t get a glut of one veggies all at once. You could stagger them a bit. I love the smell of lavender too.

  2. January 14, 2011 10:34 AM

    Love the lavender in your daughters hair – how cute is that 🙂 All this rain sure brings about a renewed enthusiasm for my very spasmodic gardening plans. The chillies are fabulous aren’t they.

  3. January 14, 2011 7:01 PM

    That’s so sweet your daughter does that. I’ll bet her hair smells lovely all day long.
    The markets sound great. It’s the little ones that are quite often the best 🙂

  4. Sarah - For the Love of Food permalink
    January 18, 2011 12:11 AM

    It’s so lovely for children to have the experience of watching a veggie garden grow and being able to pick and even eat the results! The market sounds like a lovely interlude after the school drop off 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      January 29, 2011 10:38 AM

      Yes, I think I might be more willing to drive Sam to/from school on a Thursday just so I can visit this lovely little market!

  5. January 18, 2011 6:57 AM

    What fun you have – I want the summer back and the markets and green plants to grow. My garlic has now got 1 inch shoots, so that is progress I guess. I’ll just have to be patient and dream like a droning bumble bee of lavender to come. Possibly my favourite summer scent in the garden of all time if I had to pick just one… 🙂

  6. January 25, 2011 9:36 PM

    such a nice feel to see the kids see the veggies grow. god bless

Leave a Reply

