Skip to content

Summer

February 10, 2011

I bought a box of ripe roma tomatoes with a plan in mind that did not eventuate. They sat there making me feel guilty every time I walked past. “Later…soon…too busy now” I mentally said to them. Finally I decided to tackle them. Sliced in half, sprinkled with salt, pepper and herbs de Provence. A tiny drizzle of olive oil and into the oven for a long, slow cook. They are so delicious I ate four of them just while packing them into a container. They are so delicious that I don’t want to just mush them up to make tomato sauce or passata. What can I do with them? Inspiration needed please!

I used some for my lunch today. Cooked up some gluten free pasta. Drained the water when the pasta was cooked and threw in a few tomato halves. Squashed them with a fork as I stirred them around. Added a finely chopped chilli (because I can’t help myself) and a few basil leaves from the garden. Sprinkled with a little grated parmesan. Really nice. Solved my dilemma of what to cook for dinner tonight. But I will still have tons of oven roasted tomatoes left so I need your suggestions…soon!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2011 2:08 PM

    They look delicious! I’ve been eating sun-dried tomatoes with hommus lately, also very nice on a manoush/za’atar pizza!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      February 11, 2011 7:35 PM

      Mm…with hommous…? Must give that a try over the weekend….thanks!

  2. February 10, 2011 8:00 PM

    How yummy! You could just put them into everything- fritattas, muffins, pizza, stuffings…..
    Or mix through some cream cheese as a dip/spread, or brush some puff pastry with pesto then the tomatoes then bake, blend into some butter and push under skin of a chicken before roasting, turn them into a fantastic soup by blending with some stock… Or freeze them in baggies so you can enjoy them longer and don’t get sick of them!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      February 11, 2011 7:35 PM

      Lots of lovely suggestions – yum – thank you, thank you!

  3. February 11, 2011 5:52 PM

    Yum, Yum, Yum 🙂 I love having these on hand, if tomatoes are still super cheap & plentiful at the markets this weekend, I’m going to bake up loads just like this, I use them in everything. Slow cooking tomatoes like this is the absolute best way to preserve summer tastes. My mouth is watering just reading this 🙂 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      February 11, 2011 7:34 PM

      I think I paid $10 for my box of tomatoes at the markets – total bargain. They were really ripe too…and the slow roasting just really brings out that deep flavour.

  4. February 12, 2011 4:56 AM

    I think one time I did this I just packed them in a jar and covered them in olive oil so that all the air was excluded and they kept very well. Roast tomato sauce, roast tomato ketchup… Roast tomato sourdough bread, roast tomato sorbet as it’s so hot.. I’ve never made a roast tomato sorbet but I’m sure it’s been done. Roast tomato bloody Mary…

  5. February 13, 2011 7:43 AM

    That tomato photo looks amazing. Gorgeous!…Makes me want to go out and roast tomatoes…

  6. February 23, 2011 3:51 AM

    A delightful clasic pasta dish! I love the tomato photo a lot,…so bright!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

