Skip to content

Easy breakfast

March 15, 2011

When I was at the Indian grocery store the other day I picked up a container of dosa batter from the fridge. I am normally a bit of a puritan and make my own – soak the rice and the lentils, grind them in my special stone grinder (yes, I insanely carted a stone electric grinder all the way from India back to Sydney on one of my trips a few years ago), then let the mixture ferment for a day or so before using it. Needless to say for all the effort involved, I tend to feel obliged to make a big batch of batter. And then I give most of it away. By the time it is ready to use I am pretty much over it! So you can understand my scepticism when it came to batter-in-a-plastic-tub that involved no effort at all.

And the verdict? Surprisingly good. And very EASY!!! I took it out in the morning. Added a little water and salt. Melted a little ghee on Sam’s crepe pan (don’t tell Sam I used his crepe pan for something other than crepes!) and spread a little batter on it. Using the back of a spoon I spread the batter as thin as I could get it. Cooked for a few minutes until crispy and golden. Then flipped to cook the other side for a minute or two. Flipped it back onto the first side to get that crispness back. That is all it took to make a delicious, healthy, gluten-free breakfast for Tara and I. We repeated the same effort the next morning for another breakfast of dosas – there was enough batter for two days. I could have been creative and put some other things in there like chopped tomato, onion, chillies, mustard seeds, etc, etc. But it didn’t need it as it was delicious on its own. And all that effort would have defeated the whole purpose of the totally easy breakfast!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 1:01 AM

    i would totally sprinkle sugar hehe

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 17, 2011 9:07 AM

      I don’t think I have tried a sweet one. Intereseting. They do have a slightly sour note to the taste though, from the fermentation. So that could be a tricky combination. More sugar, I hear you say? 🙂

  2. March 16, 2011 5:46 AM

    I should have come rushing over to you for dosa making tips last week! I would love to get batter in a tub like that, I’ve only ever seen packet mix dosa and not been tempted so far. They’re so wonderful and tasty, I just love them 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 17, 2011 9:06 AM

      Celia told me that we were both on dosa making quests recently. Snap!
      I wouldn’t try the packet mix either. Yuk. The batter (from the fridge) was surprisingly good. It has inspired me to make some more myself. Currently have rice and dal soaking…

  3. March 16, 2011 3:13 PM

    Oh wow…. this is new to me… dosa batter. Sounds heavenly 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 17, 2011 9:04 AM

      There are all sorts of other things you can make with this batter as well. I will have to do a post on it soon.

  4. March 16, 2011 9:05 PM

    Never seen this before, I’ll try and find it at ou rlocal indian market. Thanks! I also love the fact that you bought the grinder back- shows true dedication.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 17, 2011 9:03 AM

      Most Indian shops have it in the fridge. Worth a try…particularly for us gluten free people!

Leave a Reply

