Skip to content

Shiny new toys in my kitchen

March 17, 2011

We all love Celia’s In My Kitchen series so I thought I should also join in and do one too. It is most appropriate that I should link this post on my new toys to Celia as she played an important role in their acquisition. I was having lunch with her on Monday and mentioned that I have recently become obsessed with needing to buy a coffee machine. I had been drinking more coffee in the preceding two weeks in an attempt to justify the purchase to myself (and feeling the impacts of too much caffeine!). It all started with Andrew suggesting that a coffee grinder might be a good present for him for his birthday. He should know better than to ask me to look into buying some gadget. Ofcourse I was going to get totally obsessed and read all sorts of coffee snob forums to try to figure out the best one to get. When I told him I had finally decided on a grinder (I was feeling quite pleased with myself by this stage), I was rather taken aback by his outrage at my plan to spend $1100 on  grinder. “But I have compromised and decided not to get the $1500” one I wailed. No impact. “Do not get it” he said, “I will never use it, it is totally ridiculous”.  You know what that did to me, don’t you? It made me even more determined. It made me think that I should get a coffee machine as well. He should have gotten out while the going was good and I hadn’t even seriously thought about a coffee machine. Hah!

Fast forward two weeks to my lunch with Celia. “The good thing about having friends who have crazy obsessions about things, is that occasionally those obsessions overlap” she said. She called her friend Pete on her mobile and told him which machines I was considering and then passed the phone over. Here was a man who knew his coffee. I could tell because he told me he prefers his espresso brewed at 90 degrees, not 92 degrees as most people seem to think the ideal temperature is. He recommended the Expobar as you can play with the brew temperature. Sold!

So here is the photo of my very first shot. Not great crema…yet….but I still have to play around with the grind, the beans and the temperature. A good start though. My first few coffees are already quite a lot better than the coffee at my current favourite coffee shop. At $4 a coffee, four or five times a week I figure the savings will see me well on the way to recouping the cost on these shiny new toys. Right? Ok, self-delusion continues.

When I picked the kids up from school I told them I had bought a new coffee machine and that Andrew was sure to start hyperventilating when he gets home. They were a little worried. When they walked into the kitchen Tara called out “oooh mum it is awwwesooome!”. I made them hot chocolates just to seal in their approval of my purchase. They are total advocates now. Hot milos every morning.

When Andrew came home he pretended not to see it even though the kids told him about it as soon as he walked in the door. When I asked if he was going to comment he looked at it for a long moment and then said “hmm…it is what it is”. He is determined not to fall in love with it. But I know I will win him over eventually. He had his first coffee from it this morning. “Yeah, its good” he says in a lukewarm voice.

“As good as the coffee you buy at work?” I question.

“Yes.”

“Better than the coffee you buy at work?”

“Maybe, I am not sure. I can’t really tell…I can’t make that fine a distinction between them”.

He has a bit of a smile on his face and I can tell he is already falling in love with the machine. I am sure he will be selling its virtues to the boys at work this morning. I might ring up and ask them later today…just so we don’t let him get away with pretending to be unimpressed with this mnachine. I am enjoying my second cup of coffee while listening to Sade’s ‘Soldier of Love’ album. It is nice remembering what a great voice she has.

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2011 9:07 AM

    Hahahahahahahahahahaha…

    [deep breath]

    hahahahahahahahaha…..

    🙂

    xxx

  2. March 17, 2011 9:18 AM

    those are beautiful!
    my sons would love them.
    myself, I’m more than a little intimidated by the whole science and paraphernalia of coffee.
    I do, however like the shiny black and stainless steel look. 🙂
    And I’d love a cup of coffee.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 18, 2011 11:50 AM

      It is a tad addictive I must say…and not just the drinking coffee part of it!

  3. March 17, 2011 9:15 PM

    Ooooohhhhh shiny! So pretty, may I pat it please? I bet he goes to work tomorrow telling them all about the great coffee machine HE bought!

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      March 18, 2011 11:48 AM

      Yeah I must remember to ring his office later today and check up on what stories he has been telling the boys.

  4. March 18, 2011 5:29 PM

    Oh he’ll fall in love with it girl…., its a given & then you’ll be able to swan around with that ‘told you so’ look on your face. Good for you, the EXPOBAR looks the business but then again its shiny & a kitchen gadget so it was love at first sight for mwaaaahhh.
    I think we should rename Celia our kitchen fairy…, she seems to drop in & offer the most amazing presents & advice…. Good One Celia – excellent advice again 🙂

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 7, 2011 10:44 AM

      I think it may well be happening. He actually admitted to having discussed it at his work place this morning and said that they are thinking of getting one for the office. hahahahahaha….

  5. March 27, 2011 3:00 PM

    That is exactly the type of machinery that I would wake up to in the morning, and quietly stroke it’s shiny sides, (buffing any finger prints out of course.) I love that Celia knew a man that has destinct opinions on how hot the coffee should be made at. That is gold.
    Enjoy those rich aromatic cups of liquid goodness.

    • spiceandmore permalink*
      April 7, 2011 10:42 AM

      Yeah that is a seriously cool ‘six degrees of separation’ thing isn’t it?! And yes, it does make me happy when I see it sitting there all gorgeous and shiny.

Leave a Reply

